A Special Story…

This is the story I have been typing into the computer… Hope you enjoy it! MSN kept crashing on me… so I went to bed at 3:53AM. I did not get the story finished until this afternoon. Typing is tiring for me even though it is much better than it was a few weeks ago. I got up at 10:00AM and ate breakfast. I went back to bed around 11:30AM and slept until 2:00PM. So far today MSN is cooperating with me.

 

Liberty and Legend

 

Walking through the desolate streets of long forgotten memory she found no refuge for her weary soul. Though there was in plenty pain and fear to make her conscience grounded and whole. For even in her past the remains of love and life she had left behind glowed bright with fevered light and beguiled her into the remembered night. She could see the images so clearly, those that passed into reverie. Would that there was someone to share the feast of reflections that cascaded through her mind. Where were all the friends she had depended on for so long? Had they died deaths of honor on the fields or pithy battles unwon, tainted with dreams of eternity.

 

She walked a creature unmade for the darkness. Weak light emitting from her form enshrouded in the deep ebon shadows that fell encompassing her in their dismal coldness. Her mind struggled to find a path through the pitch black fields sprawling ahead of her.

 

Then suddenly out of the darkness she saw another dim lit figure. He was armed with confidence glowing against the senselessness of hate. Her well trained arm reached for a sword at her side and she drew the weapon swiftly. The other hand strayed to a pistol holstered at the other side of her tiny waist. She laid her hand on the grip, hesitating to draw it.

 

Her voice cam a soft whisper, "Who are you and what business have you here among the trappings of the dead?"

 

He turned smoothly in one fluid motion, as if startled to find anyone else in the region. "I am Legend. I was searching for a body, still warm, to turn into a song for mortals to revere and carry into their history. I am astounded to find another traveling this road. Who are you, dear?"

 

She stepped closer and drew back the pale hood that draped her exquisite face. His breath was quickly indrawn. She smiled wanly, "I, dear Legend, am Liberty and walk this path often."

 

He stammered, "But we thought you lost among the visions and dreams that have passed into long ago. Come nearer my lady; let me get a better look at you."

 

"I remain, only if men would seek me and my sisters, Faith, Love, and Peace, and lay their arms away they might still find us." She said softly as she stepped forward.

 

Legend’s bright eyes went quickly over her form, noticing the blood stains on her gossamer garments. The fabric that clothed her was rich woven, but the stains were deep and not easily removed. He gestured for her to come even closer. "Are you harmed my sweet friend? Many are seeking you. Why do you linger here in the regions of the dead, who can do nothing to further your great cause?

 

Liberty looked past him into the deeper shadows, "I linger here for these were willing to sacrifice everything the held dear to follow me. Yes, I am deeply wounded for pompous men espouse their words in praise of me, but do not truly follow me. They only seek to enslave the weak, the poor, the homeless, by their speeches on prosperity."

 

Legend held out a hand, "Come dear, we will sit and compose a song for the present. Perhaps mankind will listen to us together."

 

She sheathed her sword and reached out her slender hand to join with his strong one.

 

© Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann 

  1. #1 by Mike on March 26, 2005 - 8:50 pm

    Hi Jo Ann, I\’ll come by and reread your story more thoroughly later before I make any "real" comment. Only had time to skim it as I have to get dinner for my kids before I have a mutiny on my hands around here.

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on March 26, 2005 - 9:31 pm

    Okay, thanks for dropping by…Smiles,Jo Ann

  3. #3 by Mike on March 27, 2005 - 12:34 am

    Great prose. I have to say I am not any kind of expert with regard to poetry, heck I think Dr. Seuss is good, but I know what pleases me. There is definitely poetry in these words.I think you have tons of talent, and we should all appreciate the fact that you have chosen to share it with us.Thanks.

  4. #4 by Jo Ann on March 27, 2005 - 1:14 am

    Hi Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to read this. I wrote it several years ago. I was very active on Prodigy at the time and writing a great deal. I found it a few days ago and thought I would post it here.It does have a bit of poetry to it… probably because I like that form.Thank you for the compliments too. I never expected this to be such a wonderful forum. I began it on a whim to record my thoughts, and really I was shocked anyone would read it these days.Smiles,Jo Ann

  5. #5 by DaViD on March 27, 2005 - 6:17 am

    Hey Jo,Great story! You have a skill with allusion and metaphor. It\’s interesting that you chose Legend to also be walking among the dead and forgotten, and that he was looking for someone who is freshly dead to commit to the minds of mortals into posterity. Seems the concept of the American legend now means nothing more than the hero from the latest Schwarzenegger flick or perpetuating myths about the benevolence of America\’s founders and ignoring those nasty bits like their genocidal policies dealing with First Nations peoples and slavery. Is this why Legend was walking the same path as Liberty? But I suppose that is sort of part and parcel of the purpose of legends, to make a mere mortal with faults and imperfections into a kind of God-king for people to worship, and who embodies something, in this case, that is prototypically American. It serves the function of revealing something about the pop psyche of a nation, but it also has the capability to distort history and fact. I\’m just curious as to

  6. #6 by DaViD on March 27, 2005 - 6:17 am

    why you chose Legend?

  7. #7 by Jo Ann on March 27, 2005 - 8:12 am

    Hey Mavis, I guess I chose Legend because otherwise this story would have never come into the hands of mortals. It was to bring everything together. I was reading myths at the time and wanted to create one of my own. Also for the alliteration of the two names beginning with "L". I am more than anything else a poet so sound makes a great deal of an impression on me. I started this as a poem and the lines ran longer than I expected so I brought it into prose.This was written many years ago so that is about all I remember about the creation. I hope that at least partially answers your question.Smiles,Jo Ann

  8. #8 by Shasta Explorer on March 27, 2005 - 2:47 pm

    Fantastic!I loved it!Very well thought out and very intriguing… do you mind if I link to it?

Leave a Reply

