Some of the Stuff I Bought Today…

Bought RUMI The Book Of Love translated by Coleman Barks today and here is one of the poems I already love so much, it is on page 24.

 

BEGIN

 

This is now. Now is. Don’t postpone

till then. Spend the spark of iron

 

on stone. Sit at the head of the table.

Dip your spoon in the bowl. Seat yourself

 

next to your joy and have your awakened soul

pour wine. Branches in the spring wind,

 

easy dance of jasmine and cypress. Cloth

for green robes has been cut from pure

 

absence. You’re the tailor, settled

among his shop good quietly sewing.

 

Rumi

 

We should all follow this advice. Follow your passion and you will be happier and all will be well with your soul.

 

Great stuff to inspire thinking. What are all of you thinking right now? I am curious to know how the poem affected you. I am doing more and more of what I wanted to in the past and little dreams are coming true, but new things are evolving out of this ongoing dream I am living in and I have new goals and aspirations.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Shari on April 6, 2005 - 1:45 am

    It reminded me that I should be writing/reading……….every moment of every day. (Well, maybe not quite that much, but you get the idea….)Other than that, I will have to ruminate on the essence of it and get back to you.

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on April 6, 2005 - 4:25 am

    I am glad that you got something from that quote… I love RUMI, he is so current and inspirational despite his time difference.Smiles,Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

