More of Today and A New Idea I Am Toying With…

I may have some new visitors in the next little while. I mentioned all this to my psychiatrist today and he seemed very interested. He will have to visit after hours, but he may enjoy the blogosphere. He is really one of my favorite people. I will introduce him around soon if he gets here.

 

He seemed intrigued by the whole online journal idea. He is not an uber geek yet, but he may become one. Very thoughtful and intellectual Jewish person. He does a lot of good in the world. Treats hopeless cases like me and cheers me on. In this visit we just talked about what I am doing for fun and sounded like he might be into hardware advice. His office is very minimal technology for all he does. Today was very stressful for him, lack of cooperation from staff is sometimes a major problem in the office.

 

He gave me hugs and air kisses before I left, such a sweet soul.

 

He has to get a passport and all that before he will make his presence known.

 

Alex is having problems with his new Matrix on-line game. The lag times are making him curse at the game. I have not paid the online fees yet and this is very good. He wants to curse online and cannot get the game to do it among other dissatisfactions. He pronounced it lame a few minutes ago. Back to the store tomorrow with the thing, I guess.

 

I have not opened my major acquisition yet. I am just savoring the shrink wrapped package of PageMaker. I owned all this once before and it was taken from me. I have to get someone who knows all its capabilities to advise me on it.

 

I am getting tired and thinking of climbing into bed. Long day. Happiness all over the place. I should take a camera everywhere we go to document life.

 

I am trying to figure out how to put a recording of my voice on the blog. That is new and different.

 

Guess I will have to get all the uber geeks involved. I read poetry really well I am told, and my accent is choice. No one knows where I come from around here at first.

 

Life is just a work of art in progress.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Shasta Explorer on April 3, 2005 - 4:25 am

    Pagemaker huh? I might be able to help you if you really get stuck, although the last time I used it myself was at least 4 years ago. (Version 6.5) Most everybody I know has migrated to Quark or InDesign for pagination. I used to train people in that app once upon a time, but I haven’t used it in so long I can barely remember what it looked like…

  2. #2 by Reeking Havoc's Lair on April 3, 2005 - 9:41 am

    I love your site & visit often!

  3. #3 by Jo Ann on April 3, 2005 - 1:55 pm

    Grafix, I might be okay with PageMaker. I used version 6.0 quite a lot and version 5.0 extensively. I will ask is Quark or InDesign any better? Thank you for stopping by.Reeking Havoc, I love your site, too. I am so glad you stop by often… You are one of my favorite visitors. Thank you for leaving a comment.Smiles,Jo Ann

  4. #4 by Shasta Explorer on April 4, 2005 - 12:59 pm

    Depends on what you are doing… If it is office related materials; business cards, letterhead, flyers, booklets and office forms then PageMaker is fine. If you need more control over your process color pagination, ie. trapping, knockout, overprint, spot colors, etc., then Quark is excellent, plus it is firmly entrenched in the graphic arts industry. (And every commercial printer will be able to use it) However I think the best product out there right now is InDesign. That’s Adobe’s ‘Quark killer’. It gives you control over layers, transparency, kerning on paths, etc, plus it supports PDF as a native format and will read native Photoshop and Illustrator files while maintaining transparency, layers and the like. If you are a designer first that is the application of choice, but there is a significant learning curve…

  5. #5 by Jo Ann on April 5, 2005 - 8:35 pm

    Grafix, I think I made the decision to stay with PageMaker for now. Because I knew some of it previously and I like Adobe Products as well as any I use currently.Thank you for the advice, I may change my mind in the future, but not right now…Smiles,Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

