Sunday is Here…

Day 4: Eavesdrop


Journal Prompts and My Responses


Dip into your memory bank and write about the sounds of familiar voices. What words were spoken at your front door or in the bedroom? Arguments or tears? Be as specific as possible.


Mom’s voice is often grating because so many times throughout my life she has only expressed negativity and complaining at me. Sometimes I just want to tune her out, but her voice is deeply ingrained on my consciousness. My critic tends to use mother’s tone and words.


Richard’s voice is soothing to me. There have been times over the years when I was so irritated with him that I did not wish to talk to him. These days he is a voice of sanity and comfort. His voice conveys friendship.


Reba’s voice is so seldom heard that it is pure pleasure for me to talk to her.


Leigh’s voice reminds me of my younger self and at the same time raises guilt in me over things I have not accomplished and things I have done.


Alex’s voice is very dear. Hearing him speak reminds me of my responsibility.


Jeff’s voice hits me in the gut. I feel uneasy and yet invigorated when I speak to him. He is now a guilty pleasure to me.


Robey’s voice is thick as honey and titillating. I never expected to hear from him again.


Braswell’s voice is help to me. When I listen to her I learn to look at my best self. I will never forget how her voice was sympathetic at some of the worst times in my life.


Brenda’s voice is one of encouragement. She implores me to grow and rise above my circumstances.


Think about the times you were truly heard. Who truly listened? How did it feel?


After years and years of misunderstanding me and failing to hear me Richard finally heard my story. He recognized the agony of my life and how it had influenced all my actions and interactions. It felt awesome to have him say he understood and counted me a hero.


Leigh listens to me and empathizes with me. Her conversations with me have taught me to trust in my memories.


My counselors hear me. Sometimes I feel they are the only ones attuned to my frequency. It strengthens me to have them listen.


Moodlings… On The Simple Abundance Companion


Five things for which I am grateful today:

  1. I get to use the things I bought yesterday
  2. I began reading a new book today.
  3. My hands are well.
  4. I have semi-dependable internet service.
  5. God is love.


A list of ten nice things I could do for myself:

  1. Color my hair.
  2. Get a manicure and pedicure.
  3. Have a massage.
  4. Go to a nice restaurant alone for lunch one day.
  5. Sneak off for a weekend getaway with someone I care about (assuming I have a man in my life).
  6. Take a drive just for whimsy and take some photos of what I see.
  7. Find someone with whom to and to whom to write.
  8. Go outside and walk more often.
  9. Take a writing course.
  10. Take an art course.


If I could go anywhere in the world all expenses paid I would go to:

  1. Washington D.C. to visit the Smithsonian Institution because it houses our history. I would go with Alex to introduce him to the wonder. I would probably take my cameras and lots of film to take pictures.
  2. The Grand Canyon because it exemplifies the majesty of God’s creation. I would go with someone I care about deeply and bask in his love in such a blessed place. I would take many photographs.
  3. Paris, France to take in sights and observe people. I would like to go because it is supposed to be one of the most cultured places in the world and of course, I would have to see the Louvre. I would have to do this with a love interest.


I went to bed at 1:00AM and woke up when Mom called me at 1:00PM. I must have been really tired because I have not slept that long in a while.


BlogShares improved through the night. I was glad of all the activity I initiated on there yesterday.


Today I am staying home I think. There is a lot I can do here, and Alex is not up yet. I think the next order of business is to get a shower.


Have an excellent day and come back soon.


Always,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by SillyCrystalD on April 4, 2005 - 12:32 am

    howdy! just stopped by to see what\’s new! i posted news for ya..lol. talk to you soon!

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on April 4, 2005 - 2:55 am

    I am so glad you stopped by. I will come by and see your news sometime soon. Whatchya laughin at? Hmm…Hope to see you soon too…Smiles,Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

