Life Today…

 

I am staying quite busy. My part-time job is nerve-wracking, but going okay. Being in public after so many years of staying home makes me nervous. The scanning devices and computerized registers are so different from when I ran a register before. I am getting used to it as time goes by.

 

Alex is taking ROTC this year. It was not offered in his school until this semester. It is one more step toward the military career he wants. He is really enthused with the course.

 

Today I had to take Alex to the doctor because he has a sore throat, cough, runny nose, and generally just feels cruddy. The doctor wrote some prescriptions and sent us on our way. He did not even give me a diagnosis, so I guess it was not that serious.

 

Gas prices keep going up here and I wonder if having a job is really going to net me any money. I finally talked to a lawyer yesterday about starting bankruptcy proceedings. He no longer does bankruptcy so he is going to talk to another lawyer about taking my case. I don’t have the money to pay for all the fees initially so he was going to see if this lawyer would take installments. I hope that works out because I would like my lawyer’s referral better than a complete stranger.

 

I read Lord Bryon’s Novel The Evening Land by John Crowley. This was a very good book, but I did not like it quite as much as his previous novel Little, Big. The idea that Byron might have written something like this is appealing though.

 

I am having some problems with crying and depression. Crying mostly whenever I consider Alex going in the Marines or when I hear of something sad. Depression just seems the cycle I am in now. My hope for the future is at low ebb. I am considering discussing it with my doctor because I was taking an anti-depressant before and it kept me from reacting so strongly to random events. Maybe he would put me back on my Zoloft or something similar.

 

My writing is non-existent right now. I do not seem to have the inspiration to write anything. Even writing this is taking a long time because I have no idea what to say. I wish I could revert to the days when making these entries was effortless, but I even seem to have lost touch with those.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Melissa on August 16, 2005 - 1:43 pm

    Hey girl! Thought I would drop in and say hello :)i wouldn\’t worry about it being difficult to write….you have a case of writters block. I had it for about a month ago, but the creative juices seem to be flowing again, as i\’m sure yours too will pass.Take care,Melissa 🙂

  2. #2 by Sandi on August 17, 2005 - 5:58 pm

    Most everyone has times when we don\’t feel terribly creative. It\’s normal. Keep on your track, Jo… you\’re amazing. Take it easy on yourself. Healing is a process, not a destination. b\’ahavah DC

  3. #3 by barbara on August 18, 2005 - 2:29 am

    Thought I\’d stop by and give you a "Hello" from Germany. I hope the job becomes less and less a stress for you and more of a joy to interact with people. I did hear about those gas prices rising in the States. Where will it end!The writing blahs seem to be hitting a lot of people here on Space, all exept Wicked, of course. She is having a resurgence! Maybe it is August and the doldrums of late summer. I hope you find a muse to stimulate your creativity.

  4. #4 by Reeking Havoc's Lair on August 18, 2005 - 6:36 am

    I am delighted to hear that you are going to a job instead of being at home with nothing to do! It\’s natural that you would miss the high mood of that manic state, but I think you know that when you get manic is when your life gets out of your grasp…In contrast with the mania a moderate mood might seem like a low, but I predict you\’ll get used to the moderation and may even come to like it a LOT better! Bankruptcies are very simple for lawyers, and typically the fees are rolled into the payoff plan for the debts that are left over when other debts are discharged by the court. …but move quickly: the laws will be changing on October 17th, 2005…Congrats on hanging in there!

  5. #5 by Linda on August 18, 2005 - 1:23 pm

    JoAnn, I was also a single mother and in your same situation. My son joined the Navy for the education. I didn\’t have the money to send him to school. He stayed in for almost 8 years: spending most of that time on a nucular sub. There were a some times that I was scared also. But it turned out alright in the end. He did get a good education and now has a very good job in electronics. Hope that helps a little.Electric

  6. #6 by Kenny on August 31, 2005 - 6:40 pm

    Hey good to see you making a comeback. Don\’t worry – it will be second nature soon.Smiles for youKenny

Leave a Reply

