Staying Busy…

 

I am working over thirty hours a week and staying busy on my off time with chores or trying to rest. I did not expect a job to take up so much of my time. I guess I had forgotten what it is like to be in the workaday world. I am not sure I like the change. My hours are eliminating my time with Alex and I do not like that at all.

 

The only upside to working is the money, but now that gas prices have skyrocketed there is not so much money being made. Part-time work at an entry level wage just covers transportation costs with a little left over.

 

I signed my petition for bankruptcy yesterday afternoon and it was filed electronically. I am not happy that I had to do this, but it was the only way I could see out of a truly terrible situation. I hope to reaffirm the debt on the Jeep so that I get to keep it.

 

Today I received a call from the company I was seeking supportive employment through. I am to meet with one of their representatives Tuesday just to get acquainted. Hopefully they will be able to help me find a job that has a better schedule and possibly better pay.

 

Alex has all next week off from school, but my schedule is such that I will have very little time with him. I wish I had known in advance that he was to have the week off. I would have asked for some off days to spend with him.

 

We got a new dog, but the people who gave her to us decided after a week that they wanted her back so we do not have her anymore. Maybe it is for the best because I did not have much time to spend with her anyway.

 

Life Intervenes

 

There are so many moments

I wish to spend with you

But life intervenes

Leaving only very little time

For stolen minutes alone.

 

You are my guilty pleasure

The one I hide

Just to keep the peace…

I wish I could revel in our love

But am disallowed by others dear.

 

Maybe I will grow brave

Enough to stand the censure

Of disapproving relatives,

Until then you are my secret

The one that makes me smile.

 

© Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

Friday, September 2, 2005

 

I hope my blog gets no more attention than usual from Alex. He is my main critic in relationship issues these days.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Cheryl on September 2, 2005 - 10:55 pm

    Jeez Joanne, I haven\’t been signing on to messenger for weeks now just because of lack of time. Hopefully I can soon though. I miss you! Hope the meeting goes well and I\’m happy things are moving forward. The poem is sweet too!

  2. #2 by Stephen on September 4, 2005 - 1:37 pm

    JoAnn -It\’s nice to see you checking in with us, it\’s been a bit since your last post. Of course, with everything time is the issue. Hopefully, you\’ll get some job leads at your appointment that will offer both more time with Alex and more pay for your time!Keep your chin up! :)-Stephen

  3. #3 by barbara on September 4, 2005 - 5:55 pm

    I always check to see if you have had a chance to spend some time creating a bit of prose and updating your Spaces with how you are doing. Working has its advantages and disadvantages, doesn\’t it? Money is nice but the time it takes away from lifes quality is not. Bless those that find work in something they love.Glad to see your words here, Jo Ann

  4. #4 by Zen on September 5, 2005 - 10:01 pm

    Yup, that\’s a J.O.B. Glad you\’re back!

  5. #5 by Reeking Havoc's Lair on September 6, 2005 - 10:03 pm

    Congrats on the bankruptcy, it was the right thing to do…I hope things will get better for you now…Teens are famous for criticizing parents. In future years he\’ll likely realize you were smarter than he\’d thought!

  6. #6 by Unknown on September 7, 2005 - 11:26 am

    I just found you listed on past puberty and thought I\’d stop and say hi. Great space!

  7. #7 by Ganieda on September 9, 2005 - 1:39 am

    Hi! I\’m just cruising through all the 40\’s Past Puberty Spaces…started at "A" and working my way throught the alphabet and taking the time to say hello at all my stops. A lot of very interesting sites and people on the net! Have a Great Day! 🙂 *G*

  8. #8 by Kenny on September 9, 2005 - 6:18 am

    Here\’s me all smiling & proud of you for sticking at the job. It is worth it to make life a little more comfortable. Hey it\’s really good to see you writing poems again to JoAnn. Your words are always a pleasure to read. Take Care & Be HappyKenny

  9. #9 by Sarah on September 10, 2005 - 9:25 pm

    It has been a while since I have checked in on you. I am glad to see that you are able to work. I agree with you about gas prices. It is almost cheaper to stay home isn\’t it? I am sure that filing for bankruptcy was hard but if it was the right thing to do than that is what has to be done. Hang in there Jo Ann. I am so glad to see things improving for you!

  10. #10 by PATRICIA on September 11, 2005 - 8:05 pm

    Very wonderful post. I do enjoy your writing it is truly a gift to all of us here…………………………….()………………..l—l………………l l………………l__l……….,,,, Have a good evening,….(*^__^*)P…,,, Jossie saying good night and lighting a candle and sendingup a prayer for all the victims.

  11. #11 by Unknown on September 18, 2005 - 9:30 pm

    Glad to see that you are back at work. I am not currently working due to manic-depression which is now stable and under control for almost a year. I decided to take time out and train as a holistic practitioner (crystals and Reiki). Sorry to hear about the bankruptcy, but everything will work out fine in the end I\’m sure. Thanks for sharing your beautiful poems, they are a pleasure to read.Peace and happiness.

  12. #12 by PATRICIA on September 23, 2005 - 10:18 am

    How are you doing? As much as I like your last blog – simply hearing from you would be a delight – even if you are not up to blogging.¸..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-,,;;*¸.·´ .·´¨¨))..,,,;*;,…..()…..((¸¸.·´ ..·´ -:¦:- ,…..l__l…..;*;-:¦:- ((¸¸.´* ~.,…….l__l…….;*;~ Morning Jo Ann,..·´¨¨)) -:¦:-..;;,……l__l………;*;~ Holding the Faith,((¸¸.·´;,,\’;..,.,…,(*^__^*)P..~ -:¦:- ~ Jossie ~

Leave a Reply

