Resolutions and My Day

 

New Year’s resolutions make me a little nervous and a wee bit excited. Every time I make them with great confidence. Within a few weeks I find myself slipping. Yet I still make a few resolutions every year. Even a little progress is better than none. Annually many people fail to keep their resolutions so I am in good company. Resolution number one for this year is increase my level of exercise. Exercise is not my favorite thing. Still I think I can accomplish this by adding some walking to my days. Only walking is so boring here. Listening to music while walking makes it a little better. Usually I rather read, but that is hard while I walk. The path I walk is our driveway which is long and covered in gravel. It is easy to stumble if you are not paying attention to where you place your feet. Over time I get used to the unevenness and can read while walking. Not at the beginning though, so I will have some time where reading is not possible.

 

When I was walking every day last year someone told me that it did not do any good to walk unless you did it fast. That made no sense to me because it would seem that any increase in activity could count as exercise. However, that comment made me think WTF am I doing walking if it is not going to help me stay fit and I quit. I want to start again though and frankly I do not care what anyone else thinks of my method.

 

Another resolution for this year is to write more. Whether it be blogging or creative writing I want to increase my production during the coming days. This may not be the easiest thing to do because my muse seems to have deserted me a while back. Inspiration is hard to come by. I know that just sitting down and writing every day is important though. I hope I will be able to increase my output.

 

On another altogether different subject, don’t you hate it when you lose something in your house. I know I do. I have these blank books that I had written journal prompts in and I had them a little over a week ago. Now I cannot find them anywhere. I know they were here and I want them now, but they have disappeared into the twilight zone. I just hope they show up eventually.

 

I had a 9:45am appointment at a doctor’s office today and I did not get out until 12:10pm. Needless to say most of the time was spent in waiting. I have some health issues that have the medical people a wee bit concerned, but I am not too worried because it has been like this for years. I hope it works out okay though. I do not enjoy being practiced on.

 

Mom and I ate lunch at Fire Mountain. It was very good today. I had barbequed ribs and vegetables, plus a salad, and some dessert. We did our grocery shopping at Wal-Mart and picked up my prescription and some stuff I did not get at Wal-Mart at SAM’s Club. It began raining as we left the parking lot. We were in the pick-up and our groceries were in the bed so we had to stop and move the toilet paper and paper towels to the cab.

 

Alex was home from school today for the MLK holiday. He and one of his friends helped bring the groceries in because it was raining. I had picked up the fixings for spaghetti and I was glad I did. Mom and I made spaghetti for the guys. They were very appreciative.

 

I managed to visit everyone on my blog links lists. It is good to be able to read more often again. I had the pleasure of talking on the phone with Karen of Abnormally Normal People on Saturday. She is as wonderful live as she is online. I truly enjoyed our conversation.

 

I hope anyone who has not visited in the last few days will scroll down and read the entries from January 13 and 14 too. Otherwise you won’t have up to date information on what is going on in my life.

 

I want to change my theme, but every time I do I experience problems with my blog. If you encounter glitches please let me know. Of course usually the blog disappears so you won’t be able to tell me about it. Ah, life on MSN Spaces, what an adventure.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Shari on January 17, 2006 - 1:00 am

    I don\’t think whomever told you about that walking doesn\’t matter if you don\’t do it fast may not know what they are talking about. In the last month, I have been doing tons of reading on what will produce the most beneficial "wellness" benefits to a person, and from what I have read, walking in the fresh air for an hour a day at any pace is beneficial. I think a key part is walking in the fresh air. Part of this is because of sunlight and breathing non stagnant air, while creating more circulation. Consider that America has the hugest obesity problem in the world. And we normally don\’t walk. Most Americans walk less than a mile in a whole day, while persons in European (not fat) nations walk anywhere from 5-10 miles a day. So the moral to the story is any walking is good…..

  2. #2 by kala on January 17, 2006 - 1:14 am

    Thank you for stopping by. It has been non-stop chaos over at my place. Since my husbands motorcycle accident I have had little time to visit fellow bloggers. Take care and I hope that your medical thing works out!GODDESS

  3. #3 by Jo Ann on January 17, 2006 - 1:30 am

    Pernicious Shar, I think that you are right. I believe any increase in activity is good for the body. I am going to begin walking again and this time I am not going to stop even if the naysayers in my life come around peddling their negative opinions of what I am doing. If I can combine reading with walking even if it slows me down a little it will keep my interest going and I am more likely to continue the activity. I was walking about 4 to 6 miles a day and I was enjoying it. I shall do it again.Goddess, thanks for stopping by. I hope Shane is better soon. I think my medical thing will be okay. I have to go back in a few weeks after they get all the test results from what they did today back. I figure I have lived with it basically like this for many years so it will be alright. Just have to satisfy the doctors.Smiles,Jo Ann

  4. #4 by barbara on January 17, 2006 - 3:28 am

    I am on my way out the door this early morn, off to work but wanted to say a hear-felt "Thanks" for stopping by my Spaces. Snow in Heidelberg this morning and as I bike to work, it will take a bit longer then nomal to get there.http://www.cvb-heidelberg.de/e566/index_ger.htmlI will be back when I get home at 4pm (10am your time) and read your entries. Good to see you posting more. I have been slow to post as of late. Winter Blahs! Be back later…..

  5. #5 by Sarah on January 17, 2006 - 7:32 am

    Keep going, keep strong.. and thank you so much for the kind comments.

  6. #6 by Jo Ann on January 17, 2006 - 7:51 am

    Barbie, I have a bit more time to visit others now. I enjoyed reading your entries. I cannot imagine biking in snow. We rarely get any of the white stuff here. I find it is more like living in the tropics these days. I know about not having much to post… I have been victim of that particular malady a lot in the last few months.Sarah, I am trying to follow your advice although sometimes it is tough. You are so welcome to the comments. I really enjoy reading you posts. I like having a friend across the pond. It makes things interesting.Smiles,Jo Ann

  7. #7 by Psychedelic Pariah on January 17, 2006 - 9:04 am

    Good luck with your writing resolution, Jo. People who like to write, who really want to write, sometimes find it so difficult. Take care.

  8. #8 by Beth on January 17, 2006 - 9:41 am

    I space hopped to your place from Stephen\’s space. I am glad I did. Your personal artwork is beautiful. I enjoyed looking at it! Thanks!

  9. #9 by Jo Ann on January 17, 2006 - 1:44 pm

    Psychedelic Pariah, thanks so much for stopping by. I think I will write more this year. So far it is going pretty well. I have not written any poetry yet, but I think that will come. I think part of the block on writing poetry is that I want it to be perfect when I write it and I don\’t allow myself to write just anything.Beth, I am glad you found me and hope you will be back. Thanks for the compliment on my artwork. I am truly blessed to be able to create.Smiles,Jo Ann

  10. #10 by Sarah on January 17, 2006 - 2:26 pm

    Hi JoAnn, I was glad to see you stopped by and left a comment. I hope you are feeling better. Yes, the Norton Anti-Virus may have been a bad choice. That was what was on my computer when I bought it so I just went with it again. If I don\’t get some response from them in the next 24 hours I am going to have to get huffy.I agree with PerniciousShar. Any exercise, including walking is better than none. If nothing else it gets you out to smell the fresh air. You might try your local library for books on tape or books on CD. That way you could listen to books while you walk. I enjoy them. You can of course buy them but why not borrow from the library since it is free?About your previous entries, love is one of the most amazing feelings. You can feel the highest of highs and the lowest of lows with love. To love and to be loved are two best things in the world. It is important to tell everyone you love that you do! Have a great week!Sarh

  11. #11 by Sarah on January 17, 2006 - 2:27 pm

    That was Sarah not Sarh! ;D

  12. #12 by Jo Ann on January 17, 2006 - 3:18 pm

    Sarah, I am somewhat better… I still am not as energetic as I would like, but my stomach seems to be on the mend. Sorry you are having so many problems with Norton. I use it and like it fairly well. The install can be problematic sometimes though. I think I will be walking a lot this year. I believe any increase in activity is a step in the right direction. Thank you for reading…Smiles,Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

