Exercise and Exercise

 

I am reading and doing the exercises in The Write-Brain Workbook 366 Exercises to liberate your writing by Bonnie Neubauer. I have already entered two of the exercises here on the blog and the paragraph that follows is another one. I recommend this book to anyone who is having problems with creative block. It does have a tendency to get the brain working on writing. The exercises are fun as well.

 

The post card arrived… from Alaska where my brother James was living out his exile. He wrote that it was cold, dark, and dismal. He wished he were back here in Georgia. My brother had been sent away because he and I could not get along. Every time he got near me, he had something negative to say about me. Some sort of put down that lowered my self-esteem was always coming out of his mouth. To give me a break the powers that be had chosen to send him away. They felt Alaska was appropriate because my brother does not like the cold very much, plus it was far enough away that all communication with me would have to be long distance. After a few weeks in exile, my brother was ready to come home. He even wrote that he missed me and wished he could see me. I was not convinced that his wanting to see me was a good thing. Maybe while he was away, he had no one to inflict his tongue-lashings on and he felt the need to complain about someone convenient like me. The post card maintained our distance and gave him little space to express his dissatisfaction with me. I guessed we would have to let him come home eventually, but for a while longer, he could stay in the great white north.

 

Really, I don’t want my brother to suffer. I just wish that he could be a little kinder to me. He does not have to say awful things about me every time he comes into my presence. His words give me the impression he hates me although he tells my mother he loves me. I cannot imagine denigrating someone so much without hating him or her. I love my brother and sincerely wish that we had a good relationship. I realize I have made some very bad choices and terrible mistakes in my life, but I did not set out to intentionally mess up. My life has not been easy, and I do not think my brother understands the difficulties I have faced. He may know some of the hardships intellectually, but he lacks experience of how they affect a life. I wish I were successful in the monetary sense that seems to mean so much to him, but I probably never will accomplish that to his satisfaction. I try to live the best I can within the circumstances life gives me. I realize I am far from exemplary, but I do some things well. No one is perfect, not even my brother.

 

I did not go to bed until a little after 2:00am and I woke up at 7:10am to get Alex off to school. I feel like lying back down, but I will not because I do not want to mess up my schedule of sleeping at night. I do not want to go back to the pattern I had early last year. It took a great deal of effort to turn my sleeping patterns around to where I sleep during the hours of darkness. I was going to bed very early while I was working, but now I seem more able to stay up late.

 

The ideal place to write would be equipped with a well-stocked roll top desk. It would contain a selection of my favorite pens and various types of paper including blank books to tempt me into writing. I would sit there to write with a favorite pen on paper. There would be shelves of books in the room, especially writing books and reference books, so that help was always close at hand. It would also contain a desk with a computer that I could use when I had an urge to write electronically. This computer would be full of enticing and helpful programming that made the job of writing easier. The chair I sat in to work would be very comfortable and facilitate sitting for long periods. The light in the room would be bright though not harsh and there would be a window with a view of pleasant tree lined acres or of the ocean. I would always have something to soothe and inspire me just outside. I probably will not ever have an ideal place to write, but what I do have is not bad. I have many of the elements I desire though my space is limited. I can imagine myself in my ideal space any time and that just might be enough to encourage me to write something.

 

I am enjoying being able to write more in my blog. I hope that I continue to have something to say here. It was not only being busy that kept me from blogging much in the last few months. I just did not seem to have anything to say. It was a case of all the inspiration drying up. I hope I am out of that morass of intellectual vacuity.

 

Hooray! I found the blank books with my journal prompts written in them. I had looked all over the place. Even went out and searched through the garbage. They were hidden on a shelf right where they ought to have been. I hate it when I lose things. I wanted the journal prompts so that maybe I could send them off to a publisher. I think my idea for Just Journal For Fun could sell. In addition, I use the prompts sometimes to get me writing. The entry On Love was from one of my prompts. Even though I wrote it in 2002, it seems to have a timeless quality.

 

It has been dark and dreary all day and now it has begun to rain. I guess I will not get to walk today. Maybe tomorrow I can walk. I really do intend to do it. I just have not gotten around to it yet. Procrastination about exercise is a practice I have down to an art, and my figure shows it.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Linda on January 17, 2006 - 6:58 pm

    Hi. Lets see, I had to scroll back to see where you were. Georgia. I\’m in FL. You shouldn\’t have too bad of weather this time of year. I love to walk, walk everywhere. I am enjoying your journals. I hope you find the love of your life…;-)~Linda~

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on January 17, 2006 - 8:58 pm

    Hi Linda, thanks for stopping by. The weather here is not too bad except for days like today when it rains. I like to walk too. I am glad you are enjoying my journaling. I hope you will come back often. I sometimes think I already found the love of my life, but we just cannot be together right now. Other times I keep hoping I find him.Smiles,Jo Ann

  3. #3 by Ðêvíü§ñMë®îø§S on January 18, 2006 - 6:27 pm

    ºº¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°Hello º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤º°Won\’t you please be a part of the Birthday Space….?Come and add your birthday for all to see and share,Check back as often as you can in return, and wish some happy birthday cheer !!!

  4. #4 by Kim on January 18, 2006 - 7:41 pm

    My mother in law is fine, thanks. She will be going driving tomorrow for the first time and is a bit nervous. She was out yesterday with her daughter and when they passed a big truck by a sharp turn she got sick to her stomach.Thanks for the tip on the book. I\’ll have to check that one out. I like writing as a release and haven\’t done so in quite some time.Take care, Jo. Glad you\’re back on here.Kim

  5. #5 by Shari on January 18, 2006 - 10:55 pm

    I think I may take your suggestion on that book. Although I should get out the book "Writing Down the Bones," by a Natalee …Someone, I can\’t remember her last name right now. It\’s very good if I can get up the gumption to do some exercises. I am a little busy right now with school and work and working out, although I think I do have some time this weekend as Mak is staying with her grandma for the weekend. If I get around toit, I will post online…. I commiserate with the staying up late thing. I have worked the same job and had the same schedule for almost 4 years now and every weekend I end up staying late and screwing it all up. Anywho, have a great day!

  6. #6 by Jo Ann on January 19, 2006 - 1:15 am

    Thanks Laura for stopping by and inviting me over to your space. I hope you will visit again.Kimberly, I am just glad your mother in law is okay. She will be okay after a bit about driving again. Accidents can make you extremely nervous for a bit. I hope you like the book. I think it is a very good one. It is good to be back.Pernicious Shar, I think you will find that the book is a good one to get you writing. Writing Down the Bones is a fantastic book by Natalie Goldberg. I love that book. Probably I should get it off the shelf and read it again. Those exercises are some of the best I have ever found. I should not stay up so late, but it is nice sometimes to be a night owl. I hope you get to write this weekend.Smiles,Jo Ann

  7. #7 by kala on January 19, 2006 - 1:18 am

    We all dream of the perfect place to settle back with a pen and pad and scribble down our meandering minds. Maybe that is what sets those who write apart from those who don\’t.GODDESS

  8. #8 by Jo Ann on January 19, 2006 - 7:44 am

    Goddess, I did not realize dreaming of an ideal writing space was something all writers do. I seem to do it quite a lot, but that particular paragraph was in response to the second part of an exercise in The Write Brain Workbook. I think needing special tools and special places to work does set us apart from non-writers. They just don\’t know what they are missing.Smiles,Jo Ann

  9. #9 by Ðêvíü§ñMë®îø§S on January 19, 2006 - 9:45 am

    Hi…thanks for joining the birthday space :)I\’m just adding you now, in return, could you please check back as often as you can and click on whos ever birthday it is…?Give as many b-day spankings and wishes as you can haha…!Have a great day, and I\’ll be back soon,Lauraxoxox

  10. #10 by Roxie on January 19, 2006 - 10:41 am

    Thank you so much. I know she will have more things that have to be done later. I just really hope she can go home soon. She will have less panic attacks at home.

  11. #11 by Jo Ann on January 19, 2006 - 2:11 pm

    Laura, I really liked your space. Thank you for sharing it. Hope you will come here often.Roxie, your mother is in my prayers. I hope she gets to come home soon too. Hospitals are no fun and can be very impersonal places. I personally dislike hospitals enormously. They make me nervous.Smiles,Jo Ann

  12. #12 by SillyCrystalD on January 19, 2006 - 5:50 pm

    Hi jo! Thanks for stopping by my space….I\’ve missed you. I intend to catch up on your blogs one of these days soon…just need more time to read! Have a happy day! 🙂

  13. #13 by Jo Ann on January 19, 2006 - 9:44 pm

    Hi Crystal, I missed you too. I did not realize you had a new space until the other day. I hope your preparations for your wedding continue to go well. You have only a few days to go and you will be a married woman. Catch up on the blog when you can. You are probably to busy to worry about it right now. You must be very excited and very happy. I wish you all the best.Smiles,Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

