Computer Problems and MSN Issues…

 

My monitor went out this afternoon. I had a devil of a time with HP support about the issue and then decided to call SAM’s club about my extended warranty. The people with SAM’s were much nicer than the HP people in India and I have a new monitor on the way next week. I am using an old monitor that was on Alex’s extra computer. I am very lucky that we had a spare monitor. It is only a 14 inch CRT instead of 19 inch flat screen like I am used to using. I had some initial problems with it because of the resolution setting from my monitor, but after looking at three to four images across the screen and finally getting control panel open I was able to change the resolution so this monitor works.

 

Mother is not doing well at all. Her acid reflux is causing her a great deal of discomfort. She has an appointment for tests on Wednesday. I hope that they will be able to figure out why this problem has gotten suddenly worse.

 

I did not start the job yet because things have been very busy here all week. I do not know whether I will actually do it or not. I am not sure telemarketing is something I want to do.

 

I read Cell by Stephen King. This is a very fast read. I think it is one of the best books King has written. Of course, I have read most of his novels and find him a very good writer. I also read  Night by Elie Wiesel. This is a memoir of the Holocaust and is an excellent book on a period of time we dare not forget. Night was so gripping that I could not put it down and stayed up very late last night to finish reading it.

 

I am not really pleased with the changes that have been made to Spaces. It seems that most of the improvements do not function properly. I tried to change my theme to one of the new ones last evening and lost the blog when I tried to check comments. When I tried to leave a comment using my profile settings it would not work. The photographs changed from My Art to one of the other files of pictures and you may not see My Art any more without choosing it from the menu which is not the way I like it to work. Now I also find when I post this that it won’t allow me to use the font I usually do on my blog. I hate this… Wish MSN would leave well enough alone.

 

I still have not come up with any poetry. I think my creative impulse has deserted me. I keep hoping that some inspiration will strike me, but it seems that is in vain.

 

I hope you all are having a good weekend.

 

Smiles,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by deadites on January 30, 2006 - 10:59 am

    Yes, Spaces has become sluggish and slow again..  ugh..  I don\’t like the profiles showing up in the comments or the way profiles are listed now.  They are doing all this to make things compatible with their niew "Live" technology that is in beta testing.  I was using Windows Live Messenger Beta over the last week, and uninstalled it because between Spaces and the messenger, my PC turned into molasses running in January.. 
     
    I have Cell on reserve at the library..  Can\’t wait!

  2. #2 by Shari on January 30, 2006 - 11:32 pm

    A must read by Elie Weisel is also "Day" the sequel to "Night." Have fun!

  3. #3 by Rikk on January 31, 2006 - 10:19 am

    Hello Jo,
     
    I haven\’t been by in a while. I am glad to see you are still around and still writing. Too many of the old Spacers have disappeared. I don\’t know where they\’ve gone.
     
    rikk

  4. #4 by Kim on January 31, 2006 - 12:04 pm

    Hi Jo Ann!  I stopped by a couple days ago but didn\’t take the time to find out why I couldn\’t leave a comment even without using my profile information – I was having a really bad day with my girls misbehaviors.
    I remember that I wanted to tell you that my husband has acid reflux and the doctor told him he shouldn\’t eat anything with synthetic caffine such as cheap chocolate, dark pops, etc…  This man made caffiene disagrees with a lot of people.  I hope she\’s feeling better.
     
    Hope your day is going great!
     
     

  5. #5 by Jo Ann on February 1, 2006 - 7:52 pm

    Deadites, I notice most everyone else is using a profile picture with their posts, but mine won\’t post a comment. I really wish I could still use Comic Sans as my font, but it won\’t allow that. I hope MSN gets things straightened out soon. I think you will really like Cell. I thought it was very good. I am finally getting around to reading Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson. It will take a while because it is 927 pages. Then I have to read the other two volumes in the Baroque Cycle which are just as long… Should keep me busy a while.
     
    SharBear, I will have to check that out after I get finished with Neal Stephenson\’s Baroque Cycle. Thanks for the information.
     
    Hi Rikk, I have not seen you in a long time. I hope all is well with you. There have been some changes in Spaces… people moving on to other services and such. Hope you stick around a whiles.
     
    Kimberly, I still can\’t get my comments to post with my profile information. Sorry you were having trouble with your girls. I hope that has gotten better. Mom does not drink or eat much stuff with caffiene in it. She went for the test today and the doctor said he did not really see anything wrong, but he did biopsies just to check on things. He put her back on Reglan which helped when she was on it before. Only bad thing is that it makes her Parkinson\’s tremors worse. I think a little more shaking is better than being sick to her stomach and having acid up her throat all the time. I had a pretty good day. Thank you for stopping by.
     
    Smiles,
    Jo Ann
     
     

Leave a Reply

