Just a Bit of Information

 

I have not written about the change in Alex’s MOS. He was dropped from intelligence training and put in flight equipment support. He had to learn to rig parachutes and fix all the survival gear on planes. He does not like his job much and intends to go back to intelligence training as soon as he can.

 

Alex is a Lance Corporal now. He hopes to advance rapidly from now forward. He has talked of going back to Parris Island as a drill instructor, but does not know if he will meet the physical requirements.

 

I am hoping Alex will decide to go to officers training. I would love to see him do it.

 

Today is Mom’s seventy-eighth birthday. She got up before I did at 7:00am and was already gone for the day. I hope she has a wonderful day.

 

I have to take my Nikon D50 in for maintenance. It is working fine and everything, but my extended warranty runs out in February and I want to make sure it is in good shape.

 

My all-in-one no longer works as a fax machine. I broke it around Christmas last year and let the warranty run out before I realized it was broken. I called HP, no joke, two days after the warranty ran out and they would not fix my all-in-one. It was terrible. The scanner, printer, copier functions still work fine. I just cannot send a fax, so I guess it is okay. I do not have the money for a new one.

 

I worked for hours on the blog yesterday. The blog was not showing up on the opening page. I finally found that by using a template I could make the blog appear. I did that and moved some modules around. I am not really pleased with the theme so I may be changing that a bit. I cleared the links that no longer went to blogs and did some general housekeeping. I hope I have made some improvements.

 

I decided yesterday that I did not like using Live Writer. I will be using OneNote and the regular blog posting mechanism to do my blogs.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Zen on September 22, 2007 - 4:56 pm

     It\’s good to see you\’re back. Me,  here snf then gone again. Signa and I are doing GREAT. Thanks for thinking of us. Alex looks like a pretty tough young man and I\’m sure he\’ll do and be just fine.

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on September 22, 2007 - 6:23 pm

     Thanks for stopping by Zen. I am so glad you and Signa are doing well. Alex is pretty tough. He has gone through a lot. He has grown up to be a fine young man. I am hoping things will work out well for him.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

  3. #3 by Twila on September 22, 2007 - 8:29 pm

    Hi Jo and welcome back!  Semper Fi to Alex!  From one x-marine\’s wife to a marine\’s mother…OOOORAH!  Sorry \’bout your HP fax/copier/printer/scanner not faxing anymore.  We gave up on HPs because their replacement cartridges are so expensive.  Just bought a new Brother all in one.  Cartridgs less than a third the cost of HPs and it was only about $80.  Easy to use and prints pretty good pictures.  To us the fax is an added bonus so that when we have to fax something, we can.
     
    I LOVE WLW for blogging!  It works great for me.  If you\’re having problems with it, I\’d be happy to help you out.  It\’s oh so much easier than trying to post directly to Spaces.  Especially when you\’re posting pictures.  OH, and maybe you can help me with OneNote.  I can\’t get it to work to publish my blog, so I\’ve been sticking with WLW.  Just the opposite of you I guess.  🙂
     
    Anywho, just wanted to stop by and let you know I\’m glad to see you\’re back.  I\’ll be adding you to my Friends list and to my Spaces links.
     
    Have a great rest of the weekend!
    Twila

  4. #4 by Jo Ann on September 23, 2007 - 8:12 am

    OOOORAH! I did not think there was any such thing as an ex-Marine. Once a Marine always a Marine. 😉 I am about ready to give up on HP too, but I have used their products since the early 90s. I can still use this all-in-one. I don\’t fax much, that is why I did not realize it was broken until after the warranty went out.
     
    I just don\’t like that I cannot pick my font and font size in WLW. I write all my blog posts in OneNote, then copy and paste them to the interface on Spaces. I have done it that way for years. OneNote is better than Word because it does not put a lot of extra stuff on your post. Word leaves characters and stuff.
     
    Thank you for adding me. I will have to do the same, if I remember how… Spaces has gotten so complicated.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann 

Leave a Reply

