Fun Friday

 

I keep forgetting to write about what happened on Wednesday, September 12. Mom went off with the senior citizens. She talked to James that morning and told him the air conditioning was making a clicking noise, but he said not to worry about it. She told me before she left. I kept hearing noises coming from the air conditioner and then I smelt electrical burning coming out of the vent in my room. I called James and told him about the smell. He came down. When he got here the air conditioner was not on and he turned off the breaker so we could clean it. The coils were covered with dust and dog hair. We vacuumed and brushed them off. The Kirby was not working very well, and no wonder it gave up on Sunday right after this. James turned the breaker on the air conditioner back on and there was blue flame in the bottom of the unit. He quickly turned it off and we called the technician. He came out that afternoon and replaced the capacitor that was burning up. If I had not been here and noticed what was happening the house would have burned down. God is so good to take care of us even when we are not aware of it.

 

I woke up at 6:00 this morning, but tried to go back to sleep and did not get up until 6:30. Hope was already awake and ready to go. She may have been what woke me. Hope is very loving and an attention hound. She loves to be held and petted.

 

My good friend Sam died on June 2. He was only forty-nine. I miss him so much because we talked every day. He was a very special person and so considerate. He always made me feel like I was important to him. His mother and I have become friends and I sent her a card this morning. We talk on the phone about once a week. It makes me feel closer to Sam to talk to her.

 

I have a wireless mouse and sometimes I hate it. It goes dead at the most inconvenient times. It also uses too many batteries. The most irritating thing about it is that it flashes red light all the time and sometimes that makes it hard to sleep. I think there could be a better design.

 

I have three journals in which I wrote down original writing prompts. I wish I could get them published because I think other writers would find them useful. I have not done most of the prompts, but they are very good. I actually wrote them about seven years ago.

 

Today was educator’s day at Borders. I home-schooled Alex so I qualify as a retired educator. Mom and I went to the special event this afternoon. I won one of the grand prize giveaways. It had many nice goodies in it. I got a journal, some note cards, a nice tote bag, some mini office tools, a photo dome, a pencil and some stickers, a memo holder, a pencil holder, a book cover, and a bunch of coupons and gift cards. I took some of my rainy day money and bought some writing books since I got 25% off today. I got Coaching the Artist Within by Eric Maisel, A Writer’s Coach by Jack Hart, Writing Poetry From The Inside Out by Sandford Lyne, Writing Tools by Roy Peter Clark, and Telling True Stories edited by Mark Kramer and Wendy Call. I hope these books will help inspire me. I also bought two cups and an adorable puppy bookmark. Now I have to replace the money at the first of the month, but I saved over $28.

 

We stopped at Burger King and I had a Whopper for supper. I had not had a fast food burger in a while and it was good.

 

I chatted with Alex. He is off until Sunday afternoon. Last weekend he did rifle qualifications and was disappointed because he only qualified as marksman. I am glad he shoots that well.

 

Mom did not go off so I will not have the house to myself this weekend, but that is okay. It is somewhat lonely when she goes off anyway.

 

I hope everyone has a good weekend.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Stephen on September 29, 2007 - 1:26 pm

    JoAnne –
     
    Sounds like you\’ve had a lot going on, at least you\’re keeping busy and such. I haven\’t had a Whopper in ages and I think it\’s time to run to Burger King and grab me one, it just sounds good. I also don\’t eat a lot of fast food. Carry out is another story, eat plenty of that. Glad to see you posting again – hope you have time to post more in the future!!! 🙂

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on September 29, 2007 - 6:53 pm

    Hi Stephen,
     
    Glad you could stop by. I am staying busy. The Whopper was good. You should go get one.
     
    I am glad to be posting. I find it is helping me express myself.
     
    Take care,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

