Late Start

 

I watched Chuck, Heroes, and Journeyman and went to bed around 11:30 last night. I woke up at 8:45 this morning. Hope was licking my face and ready to get up for the day.

 

I had a brownie and Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I am glad we have brownies because our milk spoiled and I do not eat Lucky Charms without milk.

 

I called and renewed my library books. I have not been reading much. Computer time limits reading time.

 

I checked my email and Mom asked me to take her Discover payment to the mailbox. Hope and I walked to the mailbox. Hope pulls so hard against her collar that she chokes herself. I guess I will have to start using her harness when we go for walks. The weather is finally nice for walking.

 

It sprinkled just a little while we were out looking at the garden. James came down on the four-wheeler while we were outside. He and I talked a little. The rain did not last long, but it drove us all inside.

 

Mom cooked salmon patties for lunch. They were very good.

 

I did my lessons on Leonardo’s Notebooks and Corel DRAW 12. I am glad I signed up for these classes. I will probably take the intermediate course on Corel DRAW 12. I know most of the things this course is covering so far. The lesson on Leonardo’s Notebooks was inspiring. He was such a gifted person. If I apply myself, I can accomplish things like he did. I think of my blog as sort of like his notebooks. I can record thoughts and experiences here.

 

Hope and I walked to the mailbox and retrieved today’s mail. There was nothing for me. Mom got a catalog and a notice to renew our Sam’s membership.

 

Mom and I cleaned off the bar in the kitchen. It is a catch all area and has to be straightened out periodically.

 

Alex still is not communicating with me. He was not online again today. I hope he is not staying off the computer to avoid me. I will leave him alone without him having to do that. I can give him his space. I only wanted to talk to him because I love and miss him. My niece, Leigh, suggested that he might have been told to distance himself some to prepare for being deployed. I think he could have told me if this were the case, instead of being rude.

 

I am going to the country Thursday. I may not be able to post an entry here that day. I will be leaving about 6:30 in the morning and may not get back until late evening. I think I will take my camera along so I can take some pictures.

 

I wish I had a program that allowed me to make greeting cards with my pictures. I used to have Print Shop and you could do that with it, but I have not had that program in years. Maybe I could do it with Corel DRAW 12. I just have to explore the program more. I guess I am not too interested in doing it or I would find out.

 

I miss Sam, my friend, who died in June. We would have talked about the television shows I am watching and so many other things that are going on. He was always interested in what I did and how my life was going.

 

Missing Sam

 

Empty spaces where you were,

No words to console me

For the loss of you.

 

No more long conversations

To fill up empty afternoons

With telephone confidences.

 

No more speculation

Over what will come out

In the coming TV season.

 

No more recommending books

That I have read

Or reading what you recommend.

 

Empty silence without your voice

No words to comfort me

Through the loss of you.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 9, 2007

 

I wonder if I should send this to Sam’s mother. I know she misses him even more than I do. I cannot imagine what I would do if I lost Alex. I think it would kill me. I know I would wish I were dead.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Laoch on October 10, 2007 - 3:05 am

    It\’s a nice heartfelt poem J

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on October 10, 2007 - 9:29 am

    I actually like this one, glad you liked it Laoch.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

  3. #3 by Tami on October 10, 2007 - 4:17 pm

    I agree with Laoch about the poem.   Definitely heartfelt. 
     
    I am glad you know that Alex will be in touch with you again soon.   You should listen to Leigh about how they are taught to distance themselves before deployment.   That was part of what I believe he may have had on his mind.   Its a common Marine parent/girlfriend/wife complaint just before deployment.   Its sad that you believe he isn\’t proud of you.   He should be – you certainly seem like a good person.   That\’s what is most important in life.   Oh well – he has MUCH growing up yet to do.   My son is completely different than he was when he joined the Marine Corps in 2003.   What a difference adulthood and discipline has made!
     
    Have a good night!

  4. #4 by Jo Ann on October 12, 2007 - 8:55 pm

    Hi Tami,
     
    Thanks for visiting. I am glad you liked the poem. I really miss Sam so much. He was very dear to me.
     
    I hope Alex will decide to communicate. I miss him. I hope it is that he has been told to distance himself. We have always been so close it is hard to accept that he would not want to talk to me. I understand his not being proud of me. I have not accomplished a lot in my life. I try to be good, but success means more to Alex. He will grow up where he is and that is a good thing. I imagine by the time his first five years as a Marine are up that he will have learned much more respect and loyalty.
     
    Take care,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

