A Productive Day

 

I woke up at 7:20. Hope and I got out of bed and started our day. Mom was not up. I ate the last frosted brownie and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola. Mom got up around 8:15. I was surprised she slept later than I did. She usually wakes before I do.

 

Mom wanted to bathe the dogs. She bathed Hope first and I blew her dry. After she finished bathing Penny, she wanted to dress the dogs in clothes. I put on Hope’s newest dress and she put on Penny’s Old Navy tee shirt.

 

I wrote a card for Sam’s Mom last night including the poem about missing Sam. Hope and I walked to the mailbox to put the card in the mail. The dogs at our neighbor’s house came out and ran around Hope. She did not bark or act out in any way.

 

I checked email and played Spider Solitaire. I actually won the game I played.

 

I finished reading Coaching the Artist Within by Eric Maisel. It was a very good book and helped me move a little past my creative block. I think it will be a good book to come back to again. There was so much to learn in it.

 

Mom cooked salmon patties for lunch. They were very good. I was glad I decided to eat them instead of a Lean Cuisine meal.

 

Hope and I walked to the mailbox again to collect the day’s mail. The neighbor’s dogs came out and barked at Hope again. She was good and did not bark.

 

I started reading Writing Poetry From the Inside Out by Sandford Lyne. He suggests making poem sketches from lists of four words. I did one of these and came up with the poem I posted earlier. The list from which I made it was: mother, folds, twilight, hands. I thought it turned out well and shared it with my Mom. She said it was very deep. I think this book is going to be very inspirational. I was lucky to get a full-blown poem from the first sketch I tried.

 

I have sunburn from my day in the country. I should have worn sunscreen, but with the cool temperature, I did not think about it. I am so light skinned that I burn easily anyway. My bruise on my back still looks nasty. I am so fortunate I was not hurt more seriously.

 

I ate salmon patties and field peas for supper. I shared a few bites with the dogs and they acted like it was so good.

 

I washed a load of whites with towels. I wanted to wash my socks before I ran out of good pairs. We do not do near as much laundry with Alex gone. A box of detergent lasts much longer now, as does a bottle of Downy.

 

James is going to have his biopsy on Wednesday. He has no one else to drive him so Mom and I will be taking him to the hospital. I hope everything goes well. I am very worried about my brother. Mom said James expects it to take six hours. There are stores around the hospital so we will not have to sit in the waiting room all that time. We will probably go to Hobby Lobby and Borders. I can always find something to interest me in those two stores. I wish we did not have to leave the dogs alone so long, but they will be fine.

 

Existential Perspective

 

Sometimes it feels like

I am standing on a pier

Surrounded by waves

Of loneliness and despair

Where all my tomorrows

Seem shrouded in gray.

 

I can lift myself

Above this existential fog

By seeing the truth

That there is loveliness

In the everyday moments

Which light my pathway.

 

The pier I stand on

Is a launching place

From which I can dive

Into waves that carry me

Toward bright tomorrows

Devoid of loneliness.

 

It is all a matter

Of the perspective

I am looking from

And the meaning

I intend to make

Of my daily life.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 13, 2007

 

This is another poem sketch inspired by the words: pier, loneliness, tomorrows, waves. I am very impressed by the poems this new book has inspired me to write. I needed something to jump-start my muse and this seems to do it.

 

I still have not communicated with Alex. I hope he is doing well. I miss him so much.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Stephen on October 14, 2007 - 1:16 pm

    I really enjoy your poems, keep them coming. 🙂 Glad to see you posting more, I\’ll try and do the same. 🙂 Thanks a million for all your support and friendship!!!

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on October 14, 2007 - 3:58 pm

    Hi Stephen,
     
    Thank you for stopping by. I am glad you like the poems. I have been so creatively blocked I have hardly written any for a while. I am doing some exercises that seem to be working to jump-start my muse.
     
    I am really surprised I have been posting everyday since September 21, except Thursday, because I was not home. I hope you will post more. I enjoy reading what you have to say.
     
    Your friendship means a lot to me. I hope I can be there for you when you need a friend.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

