Sublime Sunday…

 

I woke to Hope licking my face at 7:15 this morning. I ate a brownie and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. Mom went to church with June.

 

I checked my email and wrote some replies. I decided to read in Writing Poetry From the Inside Out by Sandford Lyne. I did a poem sketch with the words: tribe, riverbank, ghosts, names. It actually turned into a poem and I posted it here.

 

I vacuumed the house. I really resisted this today. I wanted to read and write instead, but I vacuumed anyway. The Kirby did an excellent job.

 

While I was vacuuming, James and Alicia came looking for tools. Penny barked so that I knew Alicia was at the door. She needed a flashlight so I brought her mine. She brought it back to me and I finished vacuuming.

 

Hope and I walked up to Highway 5 and back. I was hoping the walk would take a little of her energy and calm her so I could turn her loose. It did not work that way. When I turned her loose she started gnawing on Penny’s ears. I had to tie her up again.

 

I finished reading Writing Poetry From the Inside Out by Sandford Lyne. This book is excellent. I will be going back to do the exercises I have not completed yet. I have written three poems using the poem sketch idea the book suggests. This is a huge improvement over the creative block I have experienced for the past year or more. I think writing in this blog every day and using writing books that inspire me have helped me become more productive.

 

I ate salmon patties for lunch. Even though these were leftovers they were very good.

 

Mom came home from church. She had been out to eat, to two flea markets, and to Wal-Mart. I let Hope loose for a while, but she bothered Penny so I tied her again.

 

Alex came online and spoke to me. We chatted for a few minutes. He is doing well. His online girlfriend La Tes is coming to visit him next Sunday. I hope he acts responsibly because he has never had a girlfriend in real life. The inspection of his squadron is October 29. He left his uniforms with a tailor to be altered because he has lost a lot of weight since he went into the Marine Corps. He said he had mailed his truck payment and that the truck was getting good gas mileage. He said he thought he was quitting World of Warcraft. I doubt he will do it though. He is addicted to that game. I told him I was sorry I had bugged him before and he said it was okay. He explained that he had been busy this week. I am so glad we chatted. I told him I love him and he told me he loves me. That means so much. I had missed him very much.

 

I ate a Lean Cuisine meal of roasted potatoes, broccoli, and cheese sauce for supper. I am glad our Wal-Mart finally started carrying these again. For months, I could not buy them.

 

Hope and I walked up to Highway 5 and back as it was getting dark. She seems a little more relaxed since we got back. I am hoping she can stay loose the rest of the evening. I hate tying her up so much of the time. When I got her, I thought she would be like Penny, but she cannot behave like Penny does. She is a terrorist dog.

 

I wrote the following poem using these words: hallway, doorways, whispers, stop.

 

Finding Meaning

 

Life is a hallway

With doorways leading

Into rooms of experience.

 

I stop along the way

Listening to whispers of wisdom

That guide me on my path.

 

Each doorway is an invitation

To adventure leading me further

Along the hallway that is my life.

 

The whispers stop me;

Taking time to cherish

The insight sent my way.

 

The rooms beyond the doorways

Beckon me from the hallway

To find the value of my life.

 

Whispers of knowledge come and go;

I stop, but then advance

Into experiences that nourish me.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 14, 2007

 

I hope everyone has had a good weekend. May the new week be filled with good experiences for each of you.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Tami on October 30, 2007 - 4:31 pm

    Sorry I haven\’t been stopping by much in October but I am glad I got the chance to drop in and catch up.   Your poetry really is good.   I enjoy writing too and haven\’t done much lately.   Keep blogging the books you are reading so I can try reading some of them.   See if I can get back on track writing.   Your poem \’Finding Meaning\’ is really very good. 
     
    Glad to hear that Alex got back in touch too.  
     
     

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on November 1, 2007 - 3:30 pm

    Hi Tami,
     
    Thank you for stopping by. I am glad you like the poetry. I enjoy writing it when I can. I read a lot when I am not on the computer too much. I try to share what I am reading. Blogging about books gives others a chance to enjoy them.
     
    Alex has been keeping in touch a lot. I am so glad he is communicating with me.
     
    Hugs,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

