Tuesday: Out and About

 

I woke up at 7:45 this morning. Hope was excited to get out of bed. I ate a brownie and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast.

 

I checked email and wrote some replies. I am enjoying my participation in the JournalWriting group. I am hoping to meet some of group face to face in November.

 

Hope behaved well this morning. I only tied her as we left for Mom’s appointment. We went to Mom’s dermatologist and he froze some precancerous cells on her hands. I have a sun blister on my lip from being out Thursday. I asked the dermatologist if he could recommend anything for it. He said he could prescribe a cream if I was a patient. I asked if they could work me in and they said yes. I filled out paperwork and was taken back very quickly. He looked at my lip and examined my moles. He gave me a tube of cream and said use it twice a day.

 

We went by the bank for Mom to deposit the check from Alex. We filled up the Explorer and the five gallon can with gasoline at Texaco. Gas was only $2.50 a gallon, which was much better than the price had been in months. The library was our next stop. I turned in my books and checked them out again. I also added a few new arrivals. We went to Hudsons for a barbeque lunch. I did not get sauce on my clothes for once.

 

We went to Borders and shopped. I found five books I wanted. I was very happy I had $50.00 in gift cards. I bought Write is a Verb by Bill O’Hanlon, Living Artfully by Sandra Magsamen, By Cunning & Craft by Peter Selgin, Creativity for Life by Eric Maisel, and Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn. I am looking forward to reading these books.

 

When we arrived home, I let Hope loose. My pile of clothes had fallen over so I had to stack them up again. I took some of the jeans to Alex’s closet so the stack would not be so high and likely to tumble over. Mom cleaned up the Explorer for us to drive James to the hospital tomorrow. The Explorer was not dirty. I checked email and read some in Writing Tools by Roy Peter Clark.

 

Hope and I walked to the mailbox and collected the day’s mail. The neighbor’s dogs came out and ran around Hope, but she did not bark at them. Hope is a very quiet dog, she barks very little.

 

Alex called to tell me he is being considered for top-secret clearance again. He was very happy about this development. I was surprised he called again. He must not have meant to be rude when he told me to leave him alone. He says he had a bad week.

 

I ate a bologna and cheese sandwich for supper. Mom did not eat all her roasted potatoes with broccoli and cheese sauce. She gave half of it to me and I ate it.

 

I wrote the following poem using these words: pause, reflect, unfolding, years.

 

Reflection

 

Sometimes in the daily rush

From one thing to another

I pause to reflect on

The significance of the moments

Unfolding into fast passing years.

 

When I pause it seems only

Days ago I was unfolding clothes

For my infant son whose face

Reflects much of my own,

But it has been nineteen years.

 

As days unfold I pause

In quiet reflection

To hope and pray

That God will protect my son

Through his Marine Corps years.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 16, 2007

 

 

Mom started searching for her sweaters and I went to her room to help her. We did not find many. I think she may have sent a tote with sweaters in it to the storage building. She does not think so.

 

I checked email and wrote this entry. I hope all of you are well and having a good week.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Red on October 17, 2007 - 2:05 am

    Jo, it was good chatting with you the other night.  We\’ll do it again soon. Hopefully, I\’ll be feeling better soon and back to my normal self where I have alittle energy to get up and do something other than sleep when I\’m home.

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on October 17, 2007 - 9:34 am

    Karen I enjoyed chatting with you. It had been a long time. I hope you do feel better soon. Keep me posted about how you are. I hope the new medicine works well.
     
    Thanks for stopping by here. Take good care.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

  3. #3 by Mercy on October 17, 2007 - 11:34 am

    Hi just popping in to say hello.I know that in the military there is a lot of pressure.  I actually live on a base in Cheyenne, my husband is in the Airforce.  I\’m sure Alex just snapped because people were prob. yelling @ him all day, LOL!  Kids: can\’t live with them can\’t kill them, right?Take care,Mercy

  4. #4 by Jo Ann on October 17, 2007 - 5:52 pm

    Hi Mercy,
     
    Thank you for stopping by. I hope you will be back again.
     
    I think the pressure did get to Alex and he said he wanted me to get used to talking to him less often because he will deploy in February. Kids are something else… I am so fortunate to have a wonderful son.
     
    Hope all goes well with your husband. I know being a military wife can be rough.
     
    Take care,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

