Monday’s Musings

 

Mom called me at 7:30. Hope and I got up. I ate two pieces of toast and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I drank one cup of coffee before we left.

 

We arrived at the Ford dealership at 8:30 for a 9:00 appointment. The Explorer was taken into the service bay quickly. I started reading Become a Better You by Joel Osteen in the waiting room. Two other people came in and started talking. We talked about the water shortage and the fact it was raining. One of the women commented on the book I was reading. I told her it was very good.

 

The Explorer was serviced and returned to us by 10:00. I drove home and Mom directed me. I thought she had given me wrong directions, but it turned out right.

 

I let Hope loose when we came inside the house. She was very happy to see us and jumped around excitedly. I had to tie her back up because she was gnawing on Penny’s ear.

 

Mom tried to put bottles in my toilet so that it would not use as much water, but the bottles would not allow the toilet to function correctly. I took them out.

 

Mom cooked pork chops, cornbread, and Margaret Holmes seasoned turnip greens for lunch. She put hot peppers in the cornbread and I could not eat it. The rest of the meal was very good.

 

I read some more in Become a Better You. I checked email and wrote some replies.

 

I took my shower so that I would be free to watch my television shows tonight.

 

I wrote the following poem using these words: nature, sacred, heal, create.

 

Blessed Features

 

I think of nature

As a sacred gift

With the power

To create peace inside

And let me heal.

 

The nature of my illness

Makes me aware of the sacred

In daily moments and I heal

As I create art and poetry

Out of my experience.

 

The sacred qualities

In my nature work

To create healing

In the world outside

And inside of me.

 

I create and heal

Because I am entrusted

With the sacred endowment

That nature bestows

On every one of us.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 22, 2007

 

I ate a pork chop for supper. It was very good even though I ate it cold.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

