Tuesday’s Trips to Town

 

I woke up at 8:15. Hope was anxious to leave the bed. I carried her to her leash in the laundry room/kitchen. I ate Lucky Charms and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I let Hope loose and she ran around excited.

 

I checked email. I did not read all the messages I had received, but checked to see if there was anything that demanded my attention.

 

I drank three cups of coffee with vanilla syrup.

 

Mom was talking about working out in the yard despite the rain. I asked her if she would like to go to town. She said yes. I dressed and packed my library books. I drank another cup of coffee with vanilla syrup. I packed a cooler so I would have drinks while we were in town. Mom brought the Explorer to the back door so that I did not have to carry the books a long way. We left about 10:00. We stopped and Mom put the thank you card I had written for her to the pastor in the mailbox.

 

Our first stop was the dry cleaners to drop off a pair of pants Mom needed hemmed. We went to the feed store where Mom purchased lime and fertilizer. We stopped at the library where I checked in the art books and checked them out again. I also checked out some other new arrivals. We drove to dollar tree where I purchased some licorice, dog toys, and stickers. Mom bought some things as well. Next, we went to Wal-Mart. I found a military outfit for Hope. I went to the craft section and picked up some closures and line for beading. I found some needle nose pliers and cutting pliers to use with beading. I loaded some groceries into my cart. When I checked out my purchases totaled $96.02. I did not need to spend so much money, but that is what I get for going to Wal-Mart. Mom’s bill was not so high. We headed for home from town, but I stopped at Dollar General for just a couple of minutes to pick up some strawberry filled candies.

 

When we arrived home I let Hope loose. Every time I went out to the Explorer to bring something in Hope came outside and picked up a leaf to carry inside with her. I had to take each leaf away from her so it slowed down the process of bringing stuff inside. It had stopped raining so we were able to get our purchases in without getting wet.

 

Mom cooked canned collard greens and cornbread for lunch and we ate around 3:00. It was a good lunch. I was glad we did not eat in town because I am running out of money.

 

I put Hope’s new outfit on her and she looked so cute. She now has three outfits. I need to take some pictures of her dressed and post them here.

 

I checked email. There was a Freecycle message about some silk scarves. Mom had been looking for scarves in the stores lately. I asked her if she would like me to try to get the scarves. She said yes so I called the lady about them. She said we could have them and gave me directions to her house. It was raining again so we decided against taking the dogs with us. We drove into town and I got the scarves. Mom looked through the bag and was pleased. There were thirteen scarves and they were very pretty. We stopped at Dollar General on the way home because we had ice cream that would melt and did not take time to look at the 90% off sale items the first time we were there. I bought two housedresses and a shirt. Mom bought a few articles of clothing too.

 

Mom washed her scarves and they looked even better after they were clean. I figure the scarves are worth at least $100.00. She will enjoy them.

 

I ate a leftover piece of pizza for supper and had a little chocolate ice cream afterward.

 

I read in Become a Better You by Joel Osteen. I am very pleased I was able to check this book out of the library on the day it was released. I think Mom will purchase it, but reading the library copy saves me some money. This is a wonderful book.

 

I hope it will continue raining. We need the rain in Georgia so badly. Everything here is dry and the water crisis is becoming very serious. We could use several weeks of rain. Even though we need the rain very much I have heard people complaining about the weather. I do not understand how anyone could complain about rain here now. I am happy to see it. I definitely do not mind getting a little wet. It is refreshing.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Mercy on October 24, 2007 - 11:34 am

    Sounds like an eventful day!I wonder what that dog was up to bringing in leaves?Mercy

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on October 24, 2007 - 5:40 pm

    It was a very busy day Mercy.
     
    I think Hope just likes to get things she is not supposed to have. She puts everything in her mouth. The leaves were on the back porch so she brought them inside. She tried to eat them, but I took them away from her. She is a very energetic dog and always getting into something. I don\’t think the leaves had any real significance to her. She was being her troublesome self.
     
    Thanks for stopping by.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

