Cool Thursday

 

Alex and I chatted for a while late last night. He says he is coming home for a week at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I am glad he is coming for Thanksgiving. I was not sure he would have the time off. He is enjoying playing Guild Wars now that he quit World of Warcraft. He says Guild Wars is actually a better game. He likes the way he can develop characters. I bought Guild Wars for him when it first came out and he did not like it. I am glad he finds it interesting now.

 

I woke up at 8:15. Hope and I left the bed quickly. I ate a bowl of Lucky Charms and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I also drank several cups of coffee with vanilla syrup.

 

I checked email and made a reply to a comment on my blog.

 

James called Mom and asked her to come up and stay with him while he cleaned the two deer he shot this morning.

 

I read a couple of chapters in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

Mom called and wanted me to call Kroger and Publix to check prices on pork tenderloin. I called Sam’s to see if they sold it. It was $2.88 a pound there. Mom called back and wanted me to call Hudson’s to find out the price of a gallon of barbeque sauce. I told her Sam’s had the tenderloin, but she still wanted me to call Kroger to check their price. I called Hudson’s and found a gallon of sauce cost $10.00. Then I called Kroger and found their price for tenderloin was $3.99 a pound. I called Mom and she said they wanted a gallon of barbeque sauce. She said to get the tenderloin at Sam’s.

 

I drove into town and stopped at Texaco for gas. My gas gauge does not work so I have to be careful to keep gas in the car. I bought almost $20.00 of gas. I picked up Mom’s tenderloin and a gallon of milk at Sam’s. I drove to Hudson’s and bought a gallon of barbeque sauce.

 

I drove up to James’ and delivered the tenderloin and sauce. James had deer on the grill pit. Mom unpackaged the tenderloin and he added it to the grill. I went home because I needed to put the milk in the refrigerator.

 

I checked my blog buddies blogs and commented on several of them that had new entries.

 

Mom came home to get dishes and spices. She told me James said it would be two or three hours before the meat was ready. After she left I put a Lean Cuisine roasted potatoes with broccoli and cheese sauce in the microwave. James called a few minutes later and asked if I wanted some deer barbeque. I said yes and he told me to bring a plate and come up there. I waited for the microwave to finish and took three Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Colas with me. I dropped my car keys on the way to the car and did not realize it. I got to the car and thought I might have dropped the keys in the house to which I had locked the door. I walked toward the house and found the keys. I was relieved. I drove up to James. Alicia asked me if I brought her some of the roasted potatoes and I had to tell her no. She asked if I had another drink because she cannot drink the regular cokes James drinks. She is diabetic. I went to the car and brought her a drink.

 

I ate some of the deer with barbeque sauce. It was delicious. After I ate I cut up some of the meat. We filled a pot Mom had brought. Mom and I asked if it was okay for us to leave even though all the meat was not cooked. James said yes and that I should take the pot full of deer meat. I came home and put the meat into storage containers. I decided to take Alicia a twelve pack of Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Colas. Hope and I drove up to James with them. Alicia was very happy to get the drinks and thanked me profusely. James gave me some more deer meat. I drove to the mailbox and collected a letter. It was hard toting Hope, the meat, and the letter to the house, but I managed to make it. I put the meat in the freezer.

 

Mom cooked a pound cake so that she would have some to take to James.

 

I took my shower and dressed in my pajamas. I ate some barbeque deer for supper. I ate a piece of pound cake too. It was very good.

 

Choosing Goodness

 

I am learning

It is easier

To pay attention

When I am mindful

Of what is going on

Around me.

 

I can expect

Good things

To happen

When I am

Open to their

Goodness.

 

My life is

One long

Experience

Of ongoing

Happiness

When I choose it.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© October 25, 2007

 

I read some more in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

