Snoozing Sunday

 

Hope and I woke up at 8:00. I took Hope to the kitchen/laundry room and tied her. I had a bowl of Lucky Charms and a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I decided to lay down for a few minutes before going to the meeting at Borders. I fell asleep and slept until 11:15. I did not go to the NanoWriMo meeting.

 

I let Hope loose and she was well behaved. I was glad she left Penny alone. I let the dogs out on the front porch.

 

I drank two cups of coffee with vanilla syrup.

 

Mom called and was surprised I was home. She was just checking on me. I think she must have missed me on her trip.

 

I checked the Kirby bag to see how full it was. It is almost full. I will need to change it after the next time I vacuum. It is amazing how much it picks up. I am glad Mom chose to buy a new Kirby instead of some other type of vacuum cleaner. I like that it is self-propelled. The old Kirby was manual and it was hard to push.

 

I checked email and my blog for comments. I read several chapters in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

I ate a barbequed venison sandwich for lunch. I am glad James decided to give me some of the deer.

 

I chatted with Alex a few minutes, but he had just gotten up and was not very communicative.

 

I called the Freecycler who was giving me a bunch of books. Her husband gave me their address so that I could get directions on MapQuest. She had given me directions from in town and I thought I might not have to go into town to get to her house.

 

Mom came home at about 2:30. Her clothes and throws she had taken smelled terribly of cigarette smoke. Lil is a chain smoker. Mom left some of her stuff out on the front porch to air.

 

I tied Hope up so she would not get into things while we were gone. We went to get the books. Between the MapQuest directions and the directions the woman had given me we got there without any problem. I am glad I called and got her address because it saved me many miles.

 

I let Hope loose when we came in. I went through the books and took them out to the storage building. I have so many books to read that these will be in storage until I can get to them. There seem to be too many books in the world. One person simply cannot read them all. I must own three thousand books. They take up so much space. One day I am going to have to go through them and possibly sell some or give them away.

 

I read some more in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn. This is a very good book on mindfulness. It teaches some meditation practices and I hope to begin meditating in a serious way. I think it will be good for me. I am fairly mindful already, but would like to dedicate some time to developing it as a practice.

 

I ate Healthy Choice Zesty Gumbo Soup with Ritz crackers for supper.

 

I need to finish up my HP Learning Center classes so that I will not have them to do after November 1 when NanoWriMo starts. I will be trying to write 1612 words per day on my novel after NanoWriMo starts. I am not sure I can do it. I have a hard time writing without editing as I go along and that will slow a person down. It is hard being a perfectionist. I do good to write a page on my blog every day. I have an idea for my novel, but am not sure I can sustain the story beyond the first few pages. I do not usually write long pieces. Poems are my specialty.

 

Alex called. He is very upset over all the work that has been left to be done before the inspection tomorrow. He and a corporal have to do an overall cleaning of the shop tonight, which was supposed to have been done last night. The shop is not going to be ready for inspection because the paperwork is still messed up. Alex feels he has to do much more than he should. He says the other Marines in his shop are slackers. I wish there were something I could do to make it better for him, but just being here for him seems to be good.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Laoch on October 28, 2007 - 10:45 pm

    Hope sounds nice.

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on October 29, 2007 - 11:30 am

    Hope is sweet, Laoch, but she is a terrorist dog. She torments Penny all the time. I love her dearly though. Her pictures are posted here. You can see her.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

