Terrorist Dog Friday

 

I woke up to Hope licking my face at 8:00 this morning. Mom was in the kitchen cooking biscuits when I took Hope to tie her up. Mom asked me to look for the sausage because she thought she had a box, but could not find it. I looked in her freezer and did not find it. Then I looked in the big freezer and found it on the top shelf behind the chocolate cake and under some other packages. We got it out and she started cooking it. June called wanting Mom to spend the day out with her. When the biscuits, sausage, and bacon were done Mom took some up to James. I ate a sausage biscuit and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast.

 

I let Hope loose. Mom came home after about forty-five minutes. James had wanted her to stay with him while he ate two biscuits. Mom called June, but she did not answer.

 

I went to my room and checked email. I had many to read.

 

I called Mom’s doctor’s office to get the results of the x-ray she had taken Monday. I had to leave a message for the nurse.

 

June called and Mom readied herself to go to town. I hung around with her until June came. I talked to June and saw the Christmas presents she had bought for her family at Sam’s yesterday evening. June did not want to drive Mom’s Explorer because someone had backed into it in a parking lot last week. I told her she should drive it so they could stock up on more presents. As they left Hope started attacking Penny and I had to hurry to the front porch to separate them.

 

I tied Hope up. I went to my room and sat down at the computer. I pulled up my NanoWriMo novel and read through it. I was stuck with no idea where to go next.

 

I drank five cups of coffee with vanilla syrup during the morning.

 

I called James and asked him if he had received the premium notice for the insurance policy on my car. He said yes, and that he would get to it next week. He asked if Mom was gone. I told him yes. He asked if I knew where they were going. I told him they had went to town to do some Christmas shopping. He said, "My gosh. It is too early to be Christmas shopping. I don’t start mine until after Thanksgiving." I told him Mom had most of hers done already. They were mainly shopping for June’s family today.

 

I called Satia who is doing NanoWriMo and is in my JournalWriting group. I left a message on her machine. I printed off my NanoWriMo novel and re-read it a couple of times. I liked the story that I had written, but did not know what happened next.

 

The doctor’s office called and said they had the test results, but the doctor had not read them yet. They could not tell me if Mom had pneumonia or not. They said they would call back later.

 

Satia called and we talked quite a while. She suggested if I did not know exactly what to say next in my novel to simply skip ahead to a part I did have some idea about already. I thought this sounded like good advice.

 

I picked up the printout and read over my NanoWriMo novel a few more times. I went to the computer and began typing what I thought was the next scene and the story began to flow again albeit slowly. I am not a quick typist.

 

I checked email and read some entries on a blog to which I was directed. I was conscious I was avoiding working on my novel. I went back to the novel and typed a few more paragraphs.

 

The phone rang and I was glad for the interruption. It was the doctor’s office saying Mom’s x-ray results were normal. I was happy because that meant she did not have pneumonia.

 

I went back to my novel and typed a few more paragraphs after reading over what I had written.

 

Penny barked, so I went to the front porch to see if Mom was home. The meter reader’s truck came around the house. I went back to my room and sat down at the computer. I read over what I had written from the beginning. I typed a few sentences.

 

I let Hope loose. I started eating a biscuit with sausage with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for a late lunch.

 

In a few minutes, Penny started barking and I went to the porch. Mom, June, and Nathan got out of the Explorer. I picked Hope up and took her back to the kitchen/laundry room to tie her up. Mom said she was going to show June the furniture that we wanted to give to her son and his family. She went through the house and got the key to the storage building. She walked out to the storage building and called June to come out back. I finished my biscuit with sausage. After several minutes, I walked out to where they were looking at the atlas. I asked what they were doing and they said they were looking for Dillsboro, North Carolina, but they could not find it on the map. I said if they had no idea what it was near that I could not find it either. We walked back around to the front of the house. As we went I asked June if she liked the furniture. She said it was lovely, that her son and his family would love to have it. I was glad because the furniture had been being saved for me and I wanted them to have it. June showed me the things she had bought for her family today. Mom had bought some things too. I helped her get her stuff in the house. She gave me a Subway sandwich. I told her I had just eaten so I would leave the sandwich for supper. June and Nathan left.

 

I untied Hope. Mom suggested I MapQuest Dillsboro, North Carolina after she talked to her friend Joy. I got directions from Douglasville to Dillsboro and printed them out for her. I asked why they wanted to go to Dillsboro. She told me Joy had said it was a nice town to visit with lots of neat shops and a train ride to another little town with nice shops. She and June are planning to leave for there at 6:00 in the morning.

 

Hope got a medicine bottle and ran under the table with it. I took it away when I gave her a treat.

 

I tried to work on my novel some more, but it was very slow going. Hope started gnawing on the books I have stacked in the bedroom floor. I picked her up and took her out of the room.

 

Mom asked if the doctor’s office had called. I told her the test results were normal and she did not have pneumonia. She seemed somewhat better today. She was not coughing as much.

 

I finally finished over 1600 words on my novel. I printed a copy of the new pages.

 

I ate my Subway sandwich with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for supper. Hope started attacking Penny and I was going to tie her up again, but Mom asked me not to do so. Hope is in rare terrorist dog form tonight.

 

I wonder if you all would like to read my NanoWriMo novel. I am thinking of posting it here, but I am writing it in Word and those documents do not transcribe to the blog well. I will have to give it some thought. I do not want to bore you with something long.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

