Our Saturday

 

I woke up at 7:55 but went back to sleep because I did not want to get up out of the warm bed. I got up at 9:00. I took Hope to the kitchen/laundry room and tied her on her leash. I ate a cupcake and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I let Hope loose, but she attacked Penny so I tied her back up.

 

I talked to Mom and helped her play Spider Solitaire. I thought she would already be gone because she and June were supposed to go out. June was waiting for her son to call and tell her when he would come to pick up the living room furniture Mom and I are giving him.

 

I checked email and did some blog surfing. I found out Norman Mailer had died at 84 years old and was a little saddened by it. I feel he was one of the most talented writers of our times. I read The Castle In The Forest earlier this year and felt it was a brilliant work of art. Even though it was about Hitler, it was incredibly imagined. I was hoping he would live to write some of the works he hinted at doing in that book.

 

June came over about 11:30. She said that her son would come around 2:30. She and Mom went to town.

 

I read in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

I went out to the storage building and moved some of the stuff that was blocking the path to the furniture outside.

 

I wrote an entry about the 232nd Marine Corps Birthday on my blog.

 

I picked Hope up and carried her around for a while. I let her loose and within minutes she was after Penny so I tied her up again.

 

I ate a bologna, cheese, and homegrown tomato sandwich with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for lunch. It was very good.

 

I read some more in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

James came by and I told him that Mom was not home. I told him that she and June had gone to Sam’s and June’s son was supposed to come get the furniture at 2:30, but it was nearly 4:00 and they had not shown up. He said they must have done something else.

 

About 4:30 June and Mom and June’s son, Terry, came around to the storage building. I went out and helped them move the rest of the stuff that was in the way outside. I helped load the furniture onto the truck. I brought the phone out to Mom and told her she should call James to see what he wanted. She called him and he told her he had something for her. She and June drove up to get it. I told Terry about Freecycle. I think he might be able to get some furniture through the organization. He does not have a bed. I hate knowing he is in need and not being able to do something about it. Mom came back with a walking stick that opens up into a knife. I told her it was not such a good idea because she was more apt to get hurt by it than defend herself with it. She asked me to go out to eat with them, but I said there were leftovers here and I would stay home. I need to save what money I have left for the month. Eating out is a luxury I can little afford.

 

I ate leftover turnip greens with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for supper.

 

I put Penny in Mom’s room and let Hope loose.

 

I read some more in Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

 

Mom came home and gave me the leftovers from her meal. I enjoyed the fish, slaw, hushpuppies, and half of baked potato. She also shared some peanut brittle with me. We gave some small pieces to the dogs and they loved it. Penny was begging for more.

 

I finished reading Coming To Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn. I enjoyed this book a great deal. I feel that the practice of mindfulness that it recommends could transform each of us and our world. It is a long book, but I would recommend it highly.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

