Working On Monday

 

I wrote the following poem using these words: worry, others, opinions, fail.

 

True Worth

 

When you worry about

The opinions of others

You fail to see your true self.

 

Your opinions are

As important as others

Though you worry you may fail.

 

If you worry, you fail

To see others outside

Their opinions of themselves.

 

Opinions fail to tell

The whole story of others

Who worry about impressions.

 

Others offer their opinions

But you fail to worry

Because you believe in yourself.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© November 12, 2007

 

8:15 was my wake up time this morning. Hope was lying next to me and started licking my face when I stirred. I carried her to the kitchen/laundry room and tied her to her leash. I ate a doughnut and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I turned Hope loose.

 

June called Mom and told her that her car was acting up. Mom gave her the number of a repair shop I had used. James called and wanted Mom to go to Carrollton with him. I told Mom that I would be glad to go to the shop if June needed me. She told me to call June and tell her that and she left with James. I called June and found out she could not get the car repaired until Wednesday. We talked a few minutes.

 

I drank several cups of coffee with vanilla syrup.

 

I read some email and checked for comments on my blog.

 

I read in Becoming A Professional Life Coach by Patrick Williams and Diane S. Menendez.

 

A lady called and told me that the pharmaceutical companies might help with Mom’s medicine next year when she is in the Medicare Part D coverage gap. She recommended I seek their help when the time comes next year.

 

I tried to call Leigh, but she did not answer the phone. I have not been able to reach her for over a week and am wondering if something may be wrong.

 

I called Sam’s Mom. We talked a few minutes. She may come down here this weekend and wants to meet with me. I hope it will work out this time.

 

Mom came home and said she was going down to help James split wood with the wood splitter he had just bought. I told her she should eat lunch and she said she would eat some cookies. I asked her if she would eat a sandwich if I fixed it for her. She said yes. I fixed her a bologna and cheese sandwich with mustard. She ate the sandwich. Mom went to help James.

 

I ate a bologna, cheese, and homegrown tomato sandwich with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for lunch.

 

I unpackaged the CDs I bought last week. I loaded them into iTunes.

 

I tied Hope up so she would not bother Penny while I was out of the house.

 

I went down to the field where Mom, James, and Alicia were splitting wood. I started helping. After about an hour I came back to the house to get something to drink. I took a water down to Mom. James said I should have brought he and Alicia some ice for their water. I took their container back to the house, put ice in it, and got a bottle of water for Alicia. We split wood for another hour. James cut up more wood with the chainsaw and we split that up. I was picking up blocks of wood that must have weighed sixty pounds a piece and helping James get those on the splitter. By the time we quit James’ back was hurting. I was quite tired.

 

I took my shower because I was hot and sweaty even though it was a fairly cool day.

 

I loaded the music I had transferred into iTunes onto my iPod.

 

I ate leftover lasagna with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for supper.

 

I am going to watch Chuck, Heroes, and Journeyman tonight so I am trying to get this posted early.

 

I hope Alex is having a good time at the Marine Corps Birthday Ball.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. #1 by Twila on November 12, 2007 - 8:05 pm

    Well, you had a prel day, didn\’t you?  Hope your mom\’s car is ok.  That\’s hard work, splitting wood, even with a log splitter.  We spend Mondays watching Heroes, Journeyman and CSI Miami.  That Journeyman\’s turning into a pretty good show.  Now, let\’s both get our feet up and relax for a couple hours.  Take Care Jo!

  2. #2 by Jo Ann on November 13, 2007 - 7:25 pm

    It was a busy day. It is Mom\’s friend June\’s car that is messed up. Hopefully, she will find out what is wrong with it tomorrow. The tree was really big and we had to move the heavy pieces around so it was very hard work. The splitter is amazing though. It even splits through knots.
     
    I like my Monday night shows. Journeyman is the one I like the best. I probably would not watch the other two if Journeyman did not come on. I enjoyed last night.
     
    Thank you for stopping by.
     
    Always,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

