Town Going Tuesday

 

My television shows were very good and I went to bed at about 11:30 last night. I woke up at 8:45 this morning. I took Hope to the kitchen/laundry room and tied her up. I ate a piece of pecan pie and drank a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for breakfast. I untied Hope.

 

I called the library and renewed my books.

 

Mom wanted to get her haircut. She called Great Clips to see if our stylist was in today and if she was working tomorrow. Haircuts are only $8.00 for seniors on Wednesday. Our stylist was working today, but not tomorrow. We decided we would go to town today.

 

I got dressed and packed my cooler. I tied Hope up. I packed my tote bag with items to entertain me while I sit and wait. We drove into town. At Great Clips Mom walked in and went straight back to have her haircut. It never happened that way before. We were very fortunate. Mom gave our stylist one of her hand painted angels. Lesley loved it. She said she was an angel lover. While Lesley cut Mom’s hair, I read in The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. I did not get much reading done.

 

We went to Lowe’s and returned one roll of weather stripping Mom bought last week. We found some thinner weather stripping and Mom bought it.

 

We went by our church and Mom paid for our tickets to the Lottie Moon Auction. I am going with her so that she has a way there and back. I guess it will be okay for me to be at a senior function. Normally I would take her and come home, but she is not sure she could get a ride home.

 

When we came home I let Hope loose. Mom started weather stripping the doors. It still did not work right, but it was better than the stuff she had before. I helped her a little.

 

I ate turnip greens and cornbread with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for lunch.

 

I read some more in The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.

 

I watched Oprah with Mom today because it was her Favorite Things show. I was surprised that she did not have a new iPod as one of her favorite things. I guess Apple did not give her enough promotion money this year.

 

I watched Dr. Phil with Mom. I guess I am going to watch it tomorrow too. This is a three-part show.

 

I ate a ham, cheese, and homegrown tomato sandwich with a Caffeine Free Diet Sam’s Cola for supper.

 

Generous

 

She gives without any thought

Of anything in return

To people who rarely touch

The fabric of her life.

 

She gives so much

When she has so little

With which to purchase

The splendid gifts.

 

She gives of herself

And wants to do even more

Because she loves others

Without ever stinting.

 

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

© November 20, 2007

 

I hope to read some more before going to bed. Hope each of you has a good evening.

 

Always,

Jo Ann Wink

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

