Free Association – God

Creative Journal – Entry Five – God

Friday, October 16, 2009

 

God is central to my life. I deeply believe in God’s existence. I grew up in a home where God was held dear. We regularly went to church. I am a Christian, but find myself at odds with some of the commonly held positions of my denomination. I have grown to be open-minded and find fundamentalist beliefs stifling. God, to me, is understanding, loving, and not constrained by the narrow-minded beliefs of mankind.

 

I believe that all people should have the right to live in relationships as they desire. I believe that any two people who love each other, are dedicated to a permanent union, and desire to be married should be allowed that privilege. I believe women should have the right to choose what happens to and in their bodies. I do not support abortion as a means of birth control, but I believe a woman should be allowed to terminate a pregnancy if she has not the means to support or the capacity to love a baby. I also believe when there is a hazard to mother or child that termination should be an option. I believe that God can forgive all sins, and that even the most heinous acts will not keep a person from Heaven if that person asks for forgiveness. My God shows unconditional love to all people.

 

I know I do not have the capacity to understand the full character of God. He surpasses my ideas about Him. I believe the Bible as the Word of God, but I do not believe I have a full understanding of all it means. I believe the Bible is open to interpretation under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. I think no human being should claim to fully understand the Bible. God is love and people who act in love embody His character. People are the instruments God uses to carry out His will in the world. Each person is a child of God.

 

Jesus is the embodiment of God and showed us how we should treat others. If we all loved one another as ourselves like Jesus instructs the world would be a much better place to live in. We should not judge each other, but relate to one another in loving ways.

 

God is supreme, and I am but a person trying to understand His ways. I do not pretend to know everything about God, but I know He loves me.

 

Always,

Jo Ann

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

