Friends

Creative Journal – Entry Nine – Friends

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

 

I am fortunate to have some very good friends. Three of the people I count as very close friends are actually family: my son, Alex, my Mom, and my niece, Leigh. These three are very dear to me and we can share almost anything.

 

Alex calls me his very best friend, which I treasure because it tells how close we are. He called Sunday and it was so good to hear his voice. I have not mentioned it to anyone else, but he told me that he might come home before Thanksgiving. His tour in Iraq may end early. It will be wonderful if that happens. He shared some very personal things about his girlfriend with me, and I feel privileged that he confides in me. I am so glad that we have such a great relationship. Many parents do not enjoy such closeness with their young adult children. We have always been so closely involved in each other’s lives.

 

My Mom and I have become very close over the years. She and I share our private thoughts about things and do not judge each other. I am honored to have her consider me her dearest friend. I have learned so much from my Mom in recent years. Her insight and experience are great gifts to me. I love and respect her more than any other woman in my life.

 

My niece, Leigh, and I are very close. She is only ten years younger than I am so we have a lot in common. We talk often and share many of our concerns and opinions with one another. She is the only one of my three nieces that is in touch with me. I have had no personal contact with the others in many years. They have disowned my Mom and I as family. Leigh calls and I call her a lot. She and her family also visit from time to time. She is an extremely busy person. She has a job, goes to school, and cares for her husband and three kids.

 

My “best friend” Reba lives in North Carolina so we rarely see each other. Since I have unlimited long distance we talk often and keep up with what is going on in our lives. We have been friends since I was two. We share many secrets and experiences. I wish we lived in closer proximity so we could spend time together. I would love to be able to go out and do things with Reba. She is a fascinating person and very kind and generous.

 

I have some friends at church, but truly, they are more acquaintances. We are not very close and we do not go out to do things together.

 

One of my close friends died about three years ago. Since then his mother and I have become friends. She lives in another state so we hardly see each other, but we stay in touch by phone. I think we cling to each other because we feel closer to Sam when we talk. I miss him very much. He and I used to talk about books and everything else. We were well matched intellectually and enjoyed sharing our knowledge with each other.

 

I feel I have friends in the Journal Writing group. I share some of my most private thoughts with them as they do with me. The people in the group are supportive and even though we only know each other through our keyboards, I feel close to them. It is good that computers make it possible to befriend even people far away.

 

Friendship is a treasure and I love my friends a great deal. I hope and pray that all of them will have the best in life.

 

Always,

Jo Ann

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

