Children

Creative Journal – Entry Twenty-three – Children

Tuesday, November 03, 2009

 

Children are a blessing from God. They are undeserved gifts. Often they come to us unplanned. They are a grace come to us unmerited. A baby is a blank slate that parents write upon with their deeds and words. Children learn from us without reservation. They take in everything we do or fail to do. Their hearts and minds are imprinted with our love or lack thereof. They grow to mimic us in the way they live their lives. If we are kind and loving, their lives reflect it. Our care and concern shows in their treatment of others.

 

I tried to have a child for years, but did not become pregnant. I came to believe I could not have a child. Then unplanned I became pregnant. I knew when I found out I was carrying a child that I would not give it up. No matter how Richard pushed for an abortion, I was steadfast that I would have my child. I was afraid I might not have another chance at motherhood. When I learned my baby was a boy I was full of joy, although Richard had by then decided a girl would be okay, but he did not want a boy. I went to Lamaze classes and learned all I could about babies. I knew a lot already because there had always been little ones in the house as I grew up. My Mom babysat for extra money. When it was determined that I would need a c-section I was disappointed. The baby was too big for me to deliver naturally. I was afraid of the surgery, but I was glad the baby would come safely. I was very happy when Alex was delivered and I held him in my arms. He was beautiful and I was blessed. From the day I brought him home, my life revolved around him. I read to him and cherished him as if he were the most important person in the world. In fact, he was most important to me. As I watched him grow I marveled at the miracle of his life. Every day he developed a little more. He became his own person and I was elated. He learned new things and as he grew I thanked God for his intelligence and personality. Those days went quickly and soon years had gone by. He grew from a little boy who adored me, to a teenager who called me his friend, and then he became the adult who wants me to respect his freedom. It has been a wonderful journey through the years with Alex. I am so thankful I was blessed to share my life with this wonderful human being. He continually makes me proud.

 

I would like to share a poem I wrote for him…

 

Uncommon Grace

 

When I look upon your face

I see God’s outstanding grace

Embodied in you,

Given to me.

 

Oh what a blessing

To have a child like you,

Because there are few

Who do as you do.

 

Making me proud

Every step of the way,

By the actions you take

Every single day.

 

You are a true gift from God

So precious and dear,

Who grows in worth

From year to year.

 

© Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

 

I wish that every person who has a child would receive him or her as a gift. Every child should grow up surrounded by love. It does not matter so much what a child has materially, the important thing is being cherished. Children grow to love and respect others as they are loved and respected. May the Lord be with all children born.

 

Always,

Jo Ann

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

