November 2009 PAD Chapbook Challenge – Days 1-3

Attempting the Challenge

 

I take on the challenge,

But think myself handicapped

By insufficient inspiration.

 

No poems have burst forth

From my heart and mind

For over a year now.

 

Why should I suddenly

Be able to write a poem

Every day for a month?

 

I want to own a new lease

On my poetic life

With poems pouring out.

 

However, I am unsure

That I am capable

Of completing the task.

 

I must be resolute

And make my best effort:

Nothing is gained without struggle.

 

©  Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

 

 

My Master and Me

 

The world is a huge place

I take up so little space.

 

My master is strong

I do as she says and come along.

 

Every day is an adventure

My thoughts are sweet and pure.

 

I am a puppy dog

I like it when we jog.

 

My master is the leader

I try hard to delight her.

 

I have great love and joy

I am better than any toy.

 

My master is adorable

I please her when I am able.

 

© Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

 

 

Positive Experience

It is great to be writing again
Even if I am not inspired
Perhaps the daily practice
Will eventually lead to revelation.

I use prompts and exercises
To get the words flowing
Anything to get my mind going
In a productive direction.

I write to please myself
With little thought of
Anyone else who might
Read my feeble attempts.

It is a positive experience
Putting words on the page
Even if I do not think them
As good as those in the past.

A little time and I will have
An abundance of pieces
Written with more effort
Than if I had not tried at all.

© Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Wednesday, November 04, 2009

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

