Exercise 2: Patterning

Exercise 2: Patterning
Writing Your Self
Chapter 12
Section 1: Getting Started
Sunday, January 31, 2010

Choose one of these opening phrases, complete a sentence with it and then add several more: ‘Today I am’, ‘I shall never’, ‘I want’, ‘I don’t want’, ‘Because I’, ‘I am going to’, ‘I won’t forget’, ‘I remember’, ‘Every day I’.

I shall never understand how some people treat their fellow humans so inhumanely.
I shall never believe my dreams are impossible.
I shall never understand why romantic love seems so elusive for me.
I shall never believe that dogs are less capable of love than are humans.
I shall never understand how anyone could hate to read.
I shall never believe that the art of writing is beyond a literate person’s capability.
I shall never understand why humanity chooses to wage war.
I shall never believe peace is beyond the reach of humanity.
I shall never understand why losing a pound can be so difficult when gaining one is so easy.
I shall never believe my harming another person is justified.
I shall never understand why some people use words as weapons to hurt others.
I shall never believe verbal abuse is kinder than physical abuse.
I shall never understand how some of the rich can be heartless.
I shall never believe I cannot contribute to society.
I shall never understand how God chooses who receives blessings.
I shall never believe God causes tragedy to happen.
I shall never understand my own gift of the talent for writing.
I shall never believe that other people are less gifted than I am.

Now try this again using a feeling or state of mind in the form: ‘Hope is’, ‘Fear is’, ‘Determination is’, ‘Rage is’, ‘Disappointment is’, ‘Serenity is’, ‘I am afraid’, ‘I love’, ‘I’m angry because’, ‘I hope’, and so on.

I love my mother now so much more than I once believed possible.
I love my son, Alex, who is such a wonderful person.
I love my puppy dog, Hope, with all my heart.
I love writing from the heart of me.
I love reading the ideas and stories of other people.
I love learning.
I love drawing and painting.
I love listening to music.
I love the United States of America and the freedoms it represents.
I love having a laptop computer.
I love that God loves me.
I love driving, especially for long distances.
I love having an iPod to listen to on my walks with Hope.
I love libraries.
I love books.
I love having a comfortable home.
I love hot showers.
I love freshly washed clothes.
I love photography.
I love the freedom to say what I want to say.
I love the freedom to do what I want to do.
I love that no one runs my life anymore.
I love my warm bed.
I love having good friends who care about me.
I love dreams that come true.
I love good food to eat.
I love it when I have moments free of pain.
I love laughing.
I love nice clothes.
I love sweet surprises.
I love being me.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

