Check in…

I finished reading The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova. I loved this book. So much is revealed about the characters that they seem like someone you might know. I read The Heavenstone Secrets by V. C. Andrews, which was a very good book. It is a little creepy, but tales of siblings can be that way. On Monsters by Stephen T. Asma was a very good look at the development of monsters through time and how perceptions of monstrous acts have changed. I enjoyed reading it. Sleepless by Charlie Huston was a good novel. It deals with the very near future and has great characters. Horns by Joe Hill was an excellent novel. Joe Hill is Stephen King’s son and he got the right genes to tell a fantastic story. I will be going back and trying to find his first two books.

 

Alex was here from February 5 to February 19 and it was great having him home. We spent some quality time together and he helped around here with some of the chores I am not good at doing. He gave me a teddy bear and an extra large box of Tide with Bleach for Valentine’s Day. The teddy bear is adorable and the Tide will definitely be used. His girlfriend was here a lot, so much of the time he was with her and not really with me.

 

I have had a couple of trying situations with Mom. She seems to get angry with me very easily. When I upset her and she is harsh with me, it makes me feel very hurt and is causing me some problems with depression. I just feel like I am such a dismal failure and have felt very negative emotions toward myself. Sometimes I feel like Mom would be better off without me.

 

I fell on February 15 and hurt myself. I wish I had insurance coverage that would allow some physical therapy without a doctor’s referral. I could use the help to get better. I will in the future be more careful when there is a possibility of ice on the ground.

 

Mom’s friend Lil passed away yesterday. She is down about it.

 

Penny is still not doing very well so we are taking her to the vet tomorrow. I hope he will be able to find something that will help her.

 

My niece, Carrie Leigh, came Saturday and blew and raked leaves. I gave her three pair of brand new pants and a pantsuit.

 

Hope and I have not walked much lately because I have been in a lot of pain, but we walked today.

 

I hope this week goes well. I do not know how much more negativity I can take from Mom without serious problems for me.

 

Always,

Jo Ann

  1. #1 by Red on February 23, 2010 - 12:11 am

    I hope you\’re recovering from your fall. I also wanted to let you know I\’m over on blogspot now : http://mildredratched.blogspot.com/Mildred Ratched Memoirs. Drop by and let me know how you are!Karen

Leave a Reply

