Share An Entry Sunday

Laura, Alex’s girlfriend, came by Tuesday afternoon and picked up Alex’s waterproof boots and the clothes Mom bought him as a birthday present.

 

Wednesday, I went to the chiropractor and took Mom’s bills to the post office to mail. We went by Lowe’s and Mom bought a weed-eater and two 2 gallon gas cans. We ate lunch at Wendy’s. I had the $2.99 chicken sandwich special. I like this meal pretty well and it is about the cheapest full meal I can get. I took the books that needed renewing to the library and something very strange happened. All 20 or so art books I had were on reserve to one person. It was like she knew what I had checked out. I think I am going to get a new library card because I think mine might be compromised. We went by Wal-Mart and picked up a few things Mom needed. At Sam’s I got my Adipex prescription and Mom bought some beautiful new dishes and a few other things. Hope and I walked two miles. I finished reading Climate of Change by Piers Anthony. I enjoyed this book. It covered many eras of history and told a series of engaging stories in a novel form.

 

Thursday, we took Hope to the vet and she had the Lyme disease vaccination. I was worried about her getting infected because most days when we walk I find a tick on her later. Mom paid for the shot and I will pay her back at the beginning of June when I receive my disability payment. We went to PetsMart to buy dog food. I found the Shih Tzu mug I had been wanting and bought it. I also bought two clearance toys for Hope. My phone went out in the afternoon and I discovered it when Alex called on Mom’s line and said mine was ringing but not connecting. I tried it and could not get a dial tone. My DSL was still working. I called the phone company and went through all their troubleshooting steps, but could find nothing amiss. I set up an appointment for the repairman to come out even though AT&T said it would cost $85.00. Mom said she would pay the service call because there was just no way I could afford it. It rained overnight.

 

Friday, the technician from AT&T was supposed to come between 8:00am and 12:00pm. I dressed early so he would not find me in my pajamas. I called Uniden tech support to find out if there was a problem with my new phones and was reassured that they were functioning properly. The problem was definitely in the line. I moved a lot of bags of new stuff into Alex’s room so the technician could get to the phone jack. At almost 12:00, after I had called to see if he was lost, the technician called on my line and said he had found a lightning strike at the junction box a couple of miles up the highway. He did not come to the house so I will not be charged for a service call. He said that my DSL continuing to work was just one of the weird things they find sometimes. It was so fortunate that the lightning did not strike Mom’s line too. I put the new dishes in the cabinet and put the 40 and 60 year old ones in the boxes to give to my niece, Leigh. I also put the newest set of Corelle dishes up in the cabinet so they could be used instead of waiting in hiding. I had to do a lot of rearranging to fit everything in the cabinet. Hope and I walked one mile.

 

Saturday, Mom went out with her best friend, June. I vacuumed the floor. It was nice being able to get to most of the floor in my room. I skipped Alex’s room because it is a disaster area with all my stuff piled into it. Mom had a spell of weakness in her legs while she was out. I think it was due to going too long without eating. When she ate she felt better immediately. She brought me a pink scrub top with kittens and puppies on it from Garden Ridge, which had just opened in Douglasville. Leigh and her family visited. They brought pizza for supper. I let my great-niece, Edith, borrow Under The Dome by Stephen King. When they left around 9:30 they took the old dishes with them.

 

This morning Mom went to Sunday school with her friend, Betty. June is supposed to bring her home. I am just hanging out with the puppy dogs. I plan on doing some reading after I finish this entry.

 

I hope all of you have a pleasant day and that the upcoming week is a good one.

 

Smiles,
Jo Ann J. A. Jordan

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

