Share an Entry

I walked one mile with Hope last Sunday evening. I spent time on the computer and reading.

 

Monday was a quiet day. I read and computed much of the day. I finished reading Not My Daughter by Barbara Delinsky. I enjoyed the novel. It explores the effects of a pregnancy pact on families and the community. It is a very well written book and confronts a timely issue in an informative manner. The characters are very interesting and draw you into the story. Hope and I walked one mile. The heat was so bad that I was not comfortable to walk more.

 

Tuesday we stayed home and the day was a quiet one. I spent most of my time on the computer and reading. I had some pleasant phone conversations. My printer would not print because one of the ink cartridges was malfunctioning. My sister-in-law, Linda, came because she had received a letter she believed was to Mom. I looked at the form, and because the letter was to James, told her she had to complete it because she was now the property owner. I wound up filling out the form and having Linda sign it. She finally said thank you for my feeding the horses during her vacation. Hope and I walked one mile.

 

I set my alarm, and it woke me at 7:30am on Wednesday. I got a shower and did a slow process of waking up as usual. Mom had an appointment with her neurologist at 11:15 and that went well. I asked permission to go to a six month interval between appointments, instead of the three months we have been doing, and the doctor approved. I think with Mom’s condition being fairly stable that the regular appointments can be more widely spaced. If there are any problems, I will call earlier. We took the form Linda had brought the day before to the courthouse. I went by the library and returned some books. There were no interesting ones on the new arrivals shelves so I checked nothing out. I returned the malfunctioning ink cartridge to Cartridge World and they replaced it with a new one free of charge. I copied the paperwork I had to send to DFCS. I wrote my other sister-in-law Carol to stop sending friend requests on Face book. She sent me a message full of lies and I became very upset. I talked to Reba, Leigh, and Alex on the phone because I needed their reassurance to calm down.

 

Thursday, one of Mom’s friends called her and woke me up. I just could not really come to life. All day I was sluggish. Because it was the third of June and my Social Security had come in we went to town. We went by the post office where I mailed the form and supporting documentation to DFCS so that my Medicaid will continue. I passed the bank, so I had to back track and withdraw the money I owed Mom. We went to Sam’s and shopped. We picked up my meds. We shopped at Wal-Mart. When we returned home I unloaded our purchases from the truck. Later I found one of my prescriptions was not correct so I called Sam’s and they said they would fix the problem. Hope and I walked two miles.

 

Friday, I stayed in my pajamas all day. I computed, read, and took it easy. Mom had a runny nose so I suggested she try Benadryl instead of the Claritin she had been taking. She became nauseated and did not feel well all day. I felt very bad because I meant to be helping her.

 

Saturday morning I woke up with a sore neck. We drove into town and I stopped by the chiropractor for an adjustment. It seemed to help some with my pain. I went by Sam’s and exchanged the bungled prescription for the right one. We drove to the Cumberland Mall area and went to Barnes & Noble. This was my first trip to the store and it was huge. There were so many bargain books to choose from. I had the $25 gift card Linda gave me for Christmas, and I soon picked up more than it afforded. I wound up with two beautiful blank books – one lined and one unlined, List Your Self by Ilene Segalove and Paul Bob Velick – this is a new edition of the book originally published in 1996, North River by Pete Hamill, How to Write What You Want & Sell What You Write by Skip Press, Wizards edited by Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois, Just Breathe by Susan Wiggs, and The Age of Miracles by Marianne Williamson. I made some suggestions and Mom bought several books as well. We went to Anna’s Linens and I bought a beautiful comforter for $14.99. It would have been much more expensive anywhere else. Mom bought some rugs and a chair cover. We ate a late lunch at Steak & Shake. When we were on our driveway, we met Leigh on her way out. She turned around and came back to the house. She and Edith visited with us for a while. After they left I did some computing and reading. I finished House of Secrets by Richard Hawke. This was a very good novel. It dealt with politics, crime, law enforcement, and family. I enjoyed reading it. Hope and I walked one mile. Mom was exhausted and went to bed early, but she got back up because she could not go to sleep, she eventually went back to bed. I prepared medicine for the next week for both Penny and I. I used the computer and read more. I let time slip away from me and did not go to bed until almost 2:00am.

 

I woke at 8:00am and have been taking it easy today. I have read in the book I began last night and checked Facebook for anything to which I needed to respond. I also read all the email that came in overnight and so far today.

 

That catches up with what has been going on with me. I hope everyone has a good week.

 

Always,
Jo Ann

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

