Share an Entry

I have gotten somewhat behind so I am going back a bit. On Sunday, June 13, after we ate the subs June brought, we visited with her a while. After she left, my nephew, Jeremy, and great-niece, Jayden, came by. Jeremy checked out the circuit breaker for the bathrooms and tripped it, turned it on many times. He also turned the bathroom lights out repeatedly. It seemed to work so he just said if we had more problems with it to call him and he would come out with a replacement breaker. We had a conversation about my possibly moving into town in a condominium after Mom is gone. After thinking about it some I really do not like the idea.

 

Monday was a quiet day. I read and computed some.

 

Tuesday, Mom had an appointment with her primary care and we got some refills on her and my prescriptions. We ate lunch at McDonalds. I took Mom for her haircut at Fantastic Sam’s and decided while there to get my hair cut too. It was incredibly hot so Hope and I did not walk. I finished reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. This was a very good young adult novel. It was a love story and I enjoyed it very much. I am reading some young adult novels because there were a few weeks that the library had no new novels in the adult section of new arrivals. I gathered up a gift bag full of goodies for my meeting with one of my classmates.

 

Wednesday, I took Mom into town to meet June. I got to Wendy’s about thirty minutes before my classmate so I sat and drank a Diet Coke. When Jana arrived, I gave her the gift bag. She insisted on buying my lunch, which was very sweet. We sat and talked a long time. She apologized for being mean to me when we were in school. This really touched my heart. I have long since forgiven the way I was treated back then, but I know the bullying and taunts I was subjected to has effected how I relate to people to this day. I almost never feel comfortable trying to make friends and I go out very rarely alone. I have very little self-confidence and a very poor self-image. After a while, we went to Borders and did more talking. Then we browsed around the store and pointed out different books we had liked. I was glad to discover she has become a reader too. After I walked her out to her vehicle, I went back into Borders. I had a 40 percent off coupon and looked for something to use it on. I searched the writing section, but found nothing I did not already own that interested me. I went to the art section and after a while of looking, I found a book I had been wishing to buy. It is Colored Pencil Painting Bible by Alyona Nickelsen. I had checked it out of the library a while ago but had to return it and wanted to own it. I picked up a graduation card for my niece, Leigh, too. I got caught in awful traffic because of road construction on the way to the library. I checked in books and re-checked them out. I went back through the construction traffic to Sam’s where I dropped off some prescriptions and did some shopping. I really got carried away by book desire and put The Passage by Justin Cronin and Insatiable by Meg Cabot in the buggy. Then I saw the most beautiful red London Fog coat. I was going to come back for it another day, but they only had one in my size, so that went into the buggy too. I went to the pharmacy, picked up Mom’s prescription, picked up my prescriptions and paid for all my sinful purchases. It was rather late when I got home so I read and computed some. Hope and I missed our walk again because of the heat.

 

Thursday, we went to the Post Office and mailed a bill. We went by the bank and cashed Mom’s check from Medicare for $250 because of all the prescription expenses she incurs. We went to Sam’s, and the traffic was even worse than the day before. We picked up Carrie Leigh’s graduation cake and some ice cream. We were trapped in traffic waiting to leave Sam’s for about an hour. When we finally got home I decided we would avoid Sam’s while the construction is going on. I read some and did a little computing. Mom started complaining about an earache before she went to bed.

 

Friday, Mom’s homebound buddies, Wendell and Frances, came for their monthly visit. Mom’s ear and throat were hurting so I called and was able to get an appointment to see the nurse practitioner. We went to the appointment and found her ear was not infected, but that it appeared she might have a sinus infection. We got prescriptions for an antibiotic and eardrops. We went to Rite Aid and filled the prescriptions because of the construction traffic around Sam’s. Mom went to Leigh’s graduation from Technical College. She, Leigh, and her family did not get back here until around 9:30. We had cake and ice cream together and I took several pictures. After Leigh and family left, I had to read and compute a while to settle down. I finished reading The New Good Life by John Robbins. This was an excellent book about living in these times. It was not so much financial advice as practical advice. I very highly recommend it. I know I will be using what I learned to make my life better.

 

Saturday, Mom went to her Sunday school class meeting with her friend Betty. I read a lot and did a little computing. In the evening Hope and I walked one mile.

 

Sunday, Hope and I walked two miles before it got very hot. Mom went out with June and I did a lot of reading. I finished The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This was a wonderful young adult novel. It was set in Nazi Germany and told the story of a young girl who faced much tragedy but also had many beautiful moments. The book was narrated by Death. I loved it. I did my thankful list, even though it was really late. Hope and I walked an additional mile in the evening. I jumped on the trampoline for a few minutes.

 

Today, I woke up at 4:55 and ate breakfast. I went back to bed and slept until 11:20. I have read and computed a good bit today. I caught up on the email I had not read for the last few days from Journal Writing. Mom is making biscuits for supper so I am going to leave this.

 

Hope everyone has a good week.

 

Smiles,
Jo Ann

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

