365 Creativity Project-Day 107

Journal entry:

Journal 4-25-20120001

April Poem A Day Challenge, poem twenty-five:

Motion Poem

I miss the sunshine
Reflecting off the water
As I rode above
On my Cypress Gardens skis;
Sweet poetry of my youth.

My ability
To skim over the rough waves
Was easily learned
From my patient brother who
Spent ample time teaching me.

Those bright days remain
Beautifully framed in my
Fondest memories.
The slap of wood on water
Resonates within my mind.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0723

Weeds…

DSC_0724

Weed…

DSC_0726

Grapevine…

DSC_0727

Pampas Grass…

DSC_0728

Weed…

I am grateful:

1.   I did not have to go to town today.
2.   I caught up on some sleep.
3.   I have made some new friends through the platform challenge.
4.   My new magazine subscriptions will begin soon.
5.   The puppy dogs add lots of love to my life.

Wednesday is middle of the work week, so I hope all of you had a good day. The PAD Challenge for today was to write a poem about sport, so if you like, try your hand at that. If not do something else creative. It will help you relax and unwind.

There were some questions in my journal entry. Please share your answers with me in the comments if you feel so inclined.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Fiercely Yours on April 25, 2012 - 8:15 pm

    I love weeds, they are wild with beauty.

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 8:20 pm

      We have a luxurious crop of them here, and sometimes they make good photographs. I only wish I knew their names.

      Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. I visited your blog and followed it.

  2. #3 by Jeannine Bergers Everett on April 25, 2012 - 8:24 pm

    I really enjoyed your post. Thanks for sharing it. I’ve written on this topic as well. I think we are far too willing to convey negative labels we haven’t earned. There is power in naming and in declaration. You don’t need anyone else to tell you. You’re a writer, an artist, a photographer a poet. That’s all that matters.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 8:30 pm

      Thank you so much Jeannine. I appreciate your encouragement. I think it is a common issue for creative people, I plan to visit your blog. I am those things, if only to myself… Maybe one day I will seek and find recognition for the work.

  3. #5 by Nynia Chance on April 25, 2012 - 8:42 pm

    If one writes, one is a writer. If one creates, one is a creator. The truth isn’t in the nouns, but the verbs. Descartes had it backwards: it’s I Am, Therefore I Think.

    Somehow, we got trained to look outside for validation, and needing that validation makes people arrogant and obnoxious over nouns. Forget about all that. You write to feed a hunger in your soul. Let it feed you. Don’t question whether you have a right to how good the soulfood makes you feel — EAT IT.

    Would it be great for more people to find and enjoy and reward you for your work? YES! Is that needed for it to be valuable?

    No.

    You are a part of this world. That means you make a difference in it. When you care for yourself and find value in this, then your difference is a good one.

    And that’s what matters.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 9:26 pm

      This comment makes what I wrote all worthwhile. Thank you so much Nynia. Thank you for participating in the conversation here. I needed your words and I hope others will read them.

      • #7 by Nynia Chance on April 25, 2012 - 10:31 pm

        You are so very welcome, and thank you so much for blogging. With so many voices around us, it’s so easy to feel invisible. If one wish could be granted for me today, it would be that each of us could see ourselves for who we truly are, and treasure that blissful beauty.

      • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 11:18 pm

        Nynia, you are very kind. I blog a lot these days but rarely know if the message is worthwhile. Sometimes it does seem the words are lost in a sea of voices. I also wish everyone could see themselves as great creative beings endowed with talent and beauty.

        Thanks again for commenting.

  4. #9 by startingthedialogue on April 25, 2012 - 10:23 pm

    Jo Ann, I agree with the comments above in answer to your questions in the post. I also believe that we empower ourselves and awaken the muse further when we claim those titles. I play musical instruments, not professionally, but with passion and joy therefore I feel I am a musician. I write and have been published so therefore I label myself a writer and an author. Money is just an exchange of energy. Your writing, artwork, photography, and poetry are all exchanges of mental energy. Wear the labels with pride and empower yourself to create more!

    Your poem today evoked fun memories of my life many years ago when I spent summers at my grandmother’s house on the lake and we went water skiing every morning before breakfast when the lake was like glass. It also brought back memories of Donna, a nurse I worked with at a summer camp. She and her father and her sister used to do barefoot skiing extravaganzas at Cypress Gardens in Florida. Thanks for the memories.
    Laura Diane

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 11:11 pm

      Thank you Laura Diane. I am so glad this entry started a conversation. I needed to read these positive comments.

      I remember skiing in the early morning too. Loved to get out on the water before it was churned by so many boats. I never went to Cypress Gardens, but I am sure that was a treat for you. I just had the skis. Unfortunately they were lost along the way. I am glad the poem evoked memories for you. Makes it so much better knowing it touched someone.

      Thank you for commenting and reading.

  5. #11 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 25, 2012 - 9:27 pm

    Nynia,thank you for writing so eloquently about this. You have a beautiful voice.

  1. Life’s victory is in finishing well, not in finishing first. « Nynia Chance @ Nexus of Now Media

Leave a Reply

