365 Creativity Project-Day 108

Journal entry:

Journal 4-26-20120001

April Poem A Day Challenge, poem twenty-six:

Hope

I was so lonely,
My son was gone far away,
Sadness dogged my days;
Then one Sunday after church
My life was drastically changed.

Wal-Mart’s parking lot
Held the sweet surprise needed
To bring me bright smiles;
Shih Tzu puppies were on sale
And one captured my whole heart.

Mom and I went in
The store to shop, but I was
Caught in intense thought;
I decided I could not
Quite afford a puppy dog.

When we went outside
Mom suggested that I should
Get the little pup;
She convinced me it was right
So I bought the pretty girl.

On the way back home
We discussed giving her an
Appropriate name;
Mom suggested Hope because
She would need it to survive.

Hope became her name
And every day she has brought
Brightness to my life;
She is my sweet companion
Bringing me great happiness.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Thursday, April 26, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0729

Hope…

DSC_0732

Hope lounging on the table… Ah, yeah, I know dogs don’t belong on tables, but she is so cute.

I am grateful:

1.   I am taking Mom to the doctor tomorrow.
2.   I have the honor of working with one of my friends on his manuscript.
3.   My dog, Hope, is such a blessing to me.
4.   Mom enjoyed the supper I cooked.
5.   The April Platform Challenge for today is easily done.

I hope you have had a good Thursday. If you can do something creative now. Every day you should exercise your talents.

I hope you enjoy my blog. If so, please subscribe or come back often and by all means leave me a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by startingthedialogue on April 26, 2012 - 10:21 pm

    Oncde again Jo Ann you astound me with all the things you are involved in and how talented you are. Your dog is so expressive and you catch just the right pose. I like your poem for today too–it paints the scene and tugs at the heartstrings.

    Thanks for sharing your talents on your blog.
    Laura DIane

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 27, 2012 - 3:29 am

      Thank you, Laura Diane, so much for visiting my blog again. I try to keep busy, right now seems like I may have a bit much going on. God has blessed me extravagantly with gifts and talents. I am not always fastidious about using them, but I try to accomplish something worthwhile daily.

      My dog, Hope, holds my heart. I do not know what I would do without her presence in my life. I am glad you like the poem. I don’t know that anyone will notice, but all the stanzas have the tanka format 5-7-5-7-7 syllables per line. I like using the counts to give form. I am glad the poem touched your heart. Mom really liked it, she called it sweet.

      I am glad you are participating on my blog. I sometimes wonder if posting here is worthwhile, but I must publish somewhere…

      • #3 by startingthedialogue on April 28, 2012 - 1:17 pm

        Keep posting. In my Author Platform class with Dan Blank he says talks often about how long it takes to build a following on a blog. For some it is years. The key is to remember that even if no one else is reading your stuff you are putting it out there because it feels good to you!

        Yes, I noticed the format, although I am not a poet. Very nice!

        Have a great day and don’t hide.
        Laura

      • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on April 28, 2012 - 2:54 pm

        Laura,

        I am not too disappointed that I don’t see a lot of comments or have hordes of followers. Just a few people who read let me know I am reaching out. I certainly appreciate your comments. This blog has been up since 2005 though it was originally on MSN Spaces. I have not regularly posted on it in some years, until I began my creativity project. Posting regularly is crucial to building a following, so I have work to do.

        I am glad you noticed the format. Sometimes I work in little things and think no one notices. Thank you for the kind words.

        I try not hide. Life is to short to spend in the shadows, have to allow my light to shine.

        Always,
        Jo Ann

  2. #5 by Anita Archer on May 1, 2012 - 1:06 pm

    I think like you, JoAnn, I am NEVER bored at home. I have more things I want and need to do than I could ever accomplish. I enjoyed your poem about Hope. That was so sweet. I read your postings almost every day, though I don’t always comment.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 1, 2012 - 2:24 pm

      Anita, I am glad someone else finds home-life challenging. So many people say they are bored, but I find so much to do.

      The poem about Hope just begins to touch on how much she means to me. Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed it.

      I did not realize you were still reading. Thank you for taking the time to do it. I hope I offer something of worth each day. Your comments are always appreciated.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

