365 Creativity Project-Day 113

Journal entry:

Journal 5-1-20120001

Beginner’s Earning

Working summers made
Money for things I could not
Afford otherwise.
My first job was not easy
Helping my Dad mechanic.

I learned to drive trucks,
Backhoes, earth movers, loaders,
And to weld a line.
Not a girl’s occupation,
But I loved the huge challenge.

I was so happy,
The responsibility
Helped fulfill my needs.
Muscles and mind together
Were schooled to accomplish much.

The sun cooked me
To a well-seasoned deep tan
Bleaching my hair gold.
The dirt and grease clung to me
Making bathwater run brown.

In my later years
I greatly appreciate
The many hours I spent
Learning to work with my hands;
Helping my Dad mechanic.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0749

The 2012 Poet’s Market… it is not just for seeking places to publish work. There are many informative features and a large section of prompts. It is an asset for anyone who writes poetry.

DSC_0750

Watercolor Teddy Bear…

DSC_0751

Colored pencil Rose…

I am grateful:

1.   I found prompts to help me write poems during May.
2.   I am finishing my blog entry incredibly early.
3.   I have fond memories of the summers of my youth.
4.   I have learned that forgiving someone helps me live more productively.
5.   I have overcome much adversity to become the person I am today.

I hope your Tuesday has brought you many smiles. I wrote a poem, and you can surely do something creative if you will just begin it. I have absolute faith in your ability, because I know God endowed you as well as me.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you found something you enjoyed. If so, please leave me a comment and follow Chronicles. Your comments let me know what is succeeding and what I can improve.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by startingthedialogue on May 1, 2012 - 9:27 pm

    Isn’t it fun how we each have our own individual taste. I could do a story a day, but probably not a poem. Every once in a while a poem comes to me, but not often. Stories on the other hand just seem to roll out unbidden.

    What a talented woman you are–trucks, heavy equipment, repair, etc. Definitely not my area of expertise or even interest, but it’s fun to hear of others who are.

    It’s been another Terrific Tuesday! Thanks for sharing all you do!

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 1, 2012 - 11:25 pm

      Laura, we are fortunately all gifted in different ways. I do occasionally write something longer, but my area of comfort is poetry. I probably should spend more time on stories, but I don’t usually.

      That was many years ago. I would be at a total loss with those things now. I did not continue in construction after the few summers I spent with my Dad. I think I hated getting dirty too much. It was grueling work too… out in the heat.

      I am glad your Tuesday went well. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my efforts.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

