365 Creativity Project-Day 134

Journal entry:

Journal 5-22-20120001

Today my poetry prompt came from Carry On Tuesday. You should try their site if you are looking for inspiration.

After All, Tomorrow Is Another Day

These things you say I should do,
You have no real conception
What you are asking of me,
Nor how ill prepared I am
To take on additional
Tasks beyond my regular
Responsibilities now.

My disorders render me
Unable to accomplish
The many things required on
Ordinary every days.
It is God’s grace providing
All the care I am able
To give my full attention.

I do my personal best,
But eventually there
May come a crisis in time
Where someone else has to take
On accountability
As incapability
Might overcome my usefulness.

For now I am still enough,
After all, tomorrow
Is another day and it
Is all in the hands of God
Come whatever will He sees
Fit to bestow upon us,
But do not expect the most of me.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Unfortunately, that poem made my Mom cry because she knows how easily I could have problems that incapacitated me. I have both Schizo-Affective Disorder and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Either one could render me unable to care for her and the dogs for a time, but I hope God will continue to see fit to bless me with strength to do the things I must. My sister-in-law, Linda, indicated I should do something that I cannot manage and inspired the content of the poem. My family should back me up so that all the responsibility is not mine, but they don’t.

Photographs:

DSC_0971

Mom close up…

DSC_0972

Mom…

I am grateful:

1.   I woke up early.
2.   There were Oreo cookies for breakfast.
3.   I finally found a parking space at the hospital.
4.   The printer cartridge was the right one.
5.   We were able to skip Wal-Mart today.

I hope your Tuesday was less problematic than mine. Try to do something creative before you retire tonight.

If you feel moved, please leave me a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann
 

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sorrygnat on May 23, 2012 - 12:15 am

    You are courageous and spunky, and it all worked out. Your mom looks pretty and I wish you both exceedingly well. Nice post.

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 23, 2012 - 3:50 am

      Thank you so much for the comment. I felt pretty awful during the day, but I kept going. My Mom is a fabulous lady, I am so lucky to have her here. Thank you for the well wishes. I am glad you liked the post.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

  2. #3 by Stan on May 23, 2012 - 4:54 am

    I hear you.

  3. #5 by startingthedialogue on May 23, 2012 - 12:53 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,
    I had no idea you were dealing with your own issues as well as caring for your mom. You are a brave woman and to be totally commended. I hope you can reach a resolution with your family to get them to engage more and to do so without as much judgment as they seem to pour out on you. One of the things I do with my clients (and will be addressed in my book) is coaching for families on how to share the burdens of care. If you ever have questions on the subject, or need a mediator, feel free to ask me

    Hopefully your Wednesday will be much calmer and less stressful.
    All the best,
    Laura

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 23, 2012 - 9:44 pm

      Laura,

      Thank you for taking time to read my post. I worry because my own health issues are pretty serious and there is no back up plan in case I was hospitalized. I am quite stable at the moment, but sometimes my mental condition can degenerate very quickly. I depend on God’s grace to continue carrying me. I sincerely have no idea what would happen if I was incapacitated because Mom is totally dependent on me. My family does not seem to realize there could be a crisis, and they would be so unprepared to step in and take over Mom’s care.

      I appreciate your offer of advice and may very well take you up on it.

      Today was much better although I had errands to run. Hopefully we are home for the remainder of the week.

      You are a dear, thank you for your encouragement.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

