365 Creativity Project-Day 140

Journal entry:

Journal 5-28-20120001

Missing

She told me he will
Leave for Afghanistan soon,
I asked exactly
When and she said she could not
Tell me, so it is secret.

I am only his
Mother now and not privy
To things going on,
She is his wife so she knows
What I can no longer learn.

It makes me worry
No less that I am left out,
The information
I used to be the first to
Know has departed from me.

I am now banished
To the outskirts of knowledge,
He is my one child,
My failure to obtain truth
Is just a part of his growth.

I am so misplaced
In this new life of his choice,
My outstanding fault
Is the continuing need
To explain I still MISS him.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Monday, May 28, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_1007

My great-niece, Jayden…

DSC_1008

Jayden…

DSC_1009

Jayden…

DSC_1011

Jayden…

DSC_1013

Jayden…

I am grateful:

1.   I finished reading the Song of Solomon today.
2.   Jeremy came, cleaned the gutters, and took off the trash.
3.   I spent some time with Jayden.
4.   We had hot dogs and French fries for supper.
5.   Carrie Leigh and little Jesse came to visit.

I hope you all have had a Happy Memorial Day. Take some time to do something creative before your day ends.

Please leave me a comment to let me know your thoughts.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Laura Diane on May 29, 2012 - 1:27 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,

    It’s hard watching our children grow up and leave us behind with their new lives, but it opens us to new experiences too. It also gives us a glimpse of what God experiences as he watches each and every one of us make choices in our lives. Yet, He loves us and gave us freedom of choice. We must do the same for our offspring–love them, revel in their accomplishments, shed tears at their defeats and know that God is always with them no matter the circumstances or the outcome.

    I hope your son’s deployment is of short duration and that he returns home safely. Regardless, he has chosen to defend the rights and freedoms of his country. You must be proud!

    The pictures of Jayden are adorable–such innocence and joy in the simple things of life!

    Laura

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 29, 2012 - 11:34 pm

      Laura,

      I am very proud of him and I try to foster his independence. I just miss the closeness we used to share at times. He will do well.

      Thank you for the sweet comment about Jayden’s pictures. She is a sweetheart. I cannot believe how quickly she is growing up. She actually talks in sentences now…

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

