365 Creativity Project-Day 141

I did not want to expound on my day, so I instead played with words:

Journal 5-29-20120001

The prompt for today’s poem came from Carry On Tuesday. You might like to visit the site and try your hand at creating a poem of your own.

The Long and Winding Road…

Life is a journey
That runs from birth to the grave,
Along the way we learn
Many lessons that carry
Us toward our completion.

At times our road leads
Us in winding directions,
Back and forth along
The path we choose to follow
With companions on our way.

We long to finish
All the tasks we are given
With our best effort,
Using capabilities
That we have developed strong.

Disappointments may
Come into our lives, but we
Keep our spirits high
By continuing forward
And accomplishing our goals.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_1019

Wisteria reaching out to pine tree…

DSC_1020

Wisteria climbing pine tree…

DSC_1021

The damage wind did…

DSC_1022

I am…

DSC_1024

The novel I am currently reading, along with others…

I am grateful:

1.   I can have Oreo cookies for breakfast.
2.   Penny’s prescription was written and ready.
3.   Even though the doctor was not in and the office had our phone number wrong, our trip was not wasted because the nurse drew Mom’s blood.
4.   I mailed a small package to one of my friends.
5.   We had Subway sandwiches for supper.

I hope your Tuesday has been pleasant. Try your hand at something creative before the day is over.

Leave me a comment if you have the time.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by thelightpurplesky on May 29, 2012 - 8:52 pm

    Great poem- so uplifting! (: Also, nice pictures!

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 29, 2012 - 11:44 pm

      Thank you so much for taking time to read. I am glad you liked the poem. I was a little ambivalent about it, could not decide if it was good or struggling.

      Those pictures were spur of the moment. I am glad they worked well.

      Please come visit again, Taya.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

      • #3 by thelightpurplesky on May 30, 2012 - 4:26 am

        Yeah, sometimes we all think our poems are a little weird or cliched but really, in the eyes of a third person, they’re great! (: Sometimes I think mine are so gross I crumple them up and contemplate throwing them in the trash, then my brother comes along, reads them and says they’re good.

      • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 30, 2012 - 11:07 pm

        I am especially bad about second guessing what I write. I think it goes along with being a perfectionist.

        Your comments are much appreciated.

        Smiles,
        Jo Ann

  2. #5 by Laura Diane on May 30, 2012 - 1:36 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,
    Your poetry is so nice and full of such wonderful shadow elements as well as the stark words. They make me think deeply.

    I love the pictures as well–you live in a beautiful place full of green. I live in a beautiful place too, but I do miss the green of the east.

    Do you look at the disappointments in life as an element of good, bad, or just one more of life’s experiences? It’s a question I ask most people.

    Have a great day!
    Laura

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 30, 2012 - 11:21 pm

      Laura,

      There has been a great deal of shadow as well as joy in my life. Portraying one without hiding the other is a balance I work toward. I am glad my poems make you think, that means they have touched you and that is the whole reason for writing.

      I am glad you enjoy the pictures too. We are fortunate that there has been an adequate amount of rain to keep things green. Sometimes it gets very dry. I am sure there is much beauty where you are.

      That is an outstanding question. I look at the disappointments in life as learning experiences that build character. They have the positive impact of developing strength. All lives involve disappointment and negative events, but they lead to personal growth. If life were all success we would not have as full a sense of gratitude. God grows us up in faith through our struggles. I have learned much from disappointment and it has given me a fuller appreciation of the good things and times. I have learned to grasp happiness in the midst of hardship.

      Thank you for the question.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

