365 Creativity Project-Day 143

Journal entry:

Journal 5-31-20120001

The poem today was inspired by the prompt at Trifecta. You should visit the site if you are in need of inspiration.

My Decline

I decay daily
My lined face falls into ruin,
I am diminished
My appeal fades slow away,
But I am not discouraged.

I still have great worth
Beyond the physical form,
My love increases
As the time quickly passes,
My wisdom grows more astute.

I reach out for new
Experience enriching
My ongoing life,
I build up a treasure trove
Of victory over waste.

Faith continues on
Becoming ever stronger,
Belief becomes more
Easily applied to days
Wherein I grow still older.

Even as decay
Works against my advancing,
I fight on each hour
Moving toward perfection
Furnished by my vibrant soul.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Thursday, May 31, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_1030

Mom’s Homebound Buddies, Frances and Wendell, who visit every month or so to bring literature and recordings from our church.

DSC_0001

Me, as I usually am… not as I imagine myself to be…

DSC_0002

Penny cooperating with the camera…

DSC_0003

Ko-Ko and Hope lounging with Mom…

I am grateful:

1.   I woke up from a laughing dream early this morning and chose to stay up.
2.   I took a shower and dressed instead of staying in pajamas.
3.   Wendell and Frances visited.
4.   My daughter-in-law, Laura, called and we had a wonderful conversation that lasted nearly an hour and a half.
5.   I completed my creative work very early.

I hope you are enjoying this last day of May. If you have been following my promptings you should have a store of creative work from this month. Reflect on it today and do something more.

There was an interesting article I read, and I want to pass along the link to you: Ode Magazine. This dealt with the health benefits of writing, and I want you to know that your creative endeavors can have a lasting positive influence on your life. I encourage you to do creative work for your well being and happiness.

I hope you will leave me a comment expressing your thoughts. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by martykilian on May 31, 2012 - 7:58 pm

    Do you enjoy it? If so, then yes! I appreciate reading when I can. Thanks!

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 31, 2012 - 10:48 pm

      Marty,

      Most of the time I do enjoy it, though finding inspiration is sometimes a great challenge. Thank you for reading and leaving me a comment. You are so kind.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

  2. #3 by Laura Diane on May 31, 2012 - 9:42 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,
    I’d love to see you continue a poem a day. Once a habit is formed (it takes approximately 3 weeks) I feel it is good to stick with it as long as it is enjoyable to you.

    Your thoughts today are something that’s entered my mind a bit this week too. Age seems to be creeping, but I don’t feel any older than I did in my 20s. The looks tell the age, but the heart still beats as a youngster.

    Have a wonderful evening.
    Laura

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on May 31, 2012 - 10:55 pm

      Laura,

      It is a difficult habit that has me searching all over the internet and books for inspiration. Thankfully I have found some places to acquire prompts. I do enjoy it though.

      I wonder if the work is getting any better. I have some books coming that should give me some new forms to attempt.

      The prompt today just led me from one word to another and that poem came forth… I don’t feel old, but the gray in my hair, and the lines on my face tell another story. I am comfortable with growing older, because I never thought I would be here this long and I am still learning and enjoying life.

      Thank you again for reading and commenting. I appreciate your thoughts so much.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

