365 Creativity Project-Day 147

Journal entry:

Journal 6-4-20120001

Today’s poem is prompted by The Monday Melting on Rosemary Mint. The words from the prompt are in italics.

A Piece Of Work

I am feminine,
But also a warrior
With a great hunger
To accomplish much through work
Not only by simple chance.

I may dress in tulle
And paint my bright eyes with kohl,

But tenacity
Is an iconic feature
Of my personality.

I write by edict
Of my own eponymous
Lines these many poems
That fall like dew from my mind
And flow forth in thick gel ink.

A flick of my wrist
Affixes my signature
With a grand flourish
To each of my endeavors
Which may finally be read.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Monday, June 4, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0016

One among many…

DSC_0018

Orange Lily…

DSC_0017

Bright…

I am grateful:

1.   The power came back on after only about an hour.
2.   Mom rode to town with me.
3.   I have a little money left for the month.
4.   The pizza was very good at supper.
5.   I did not have to go to the hospital though it appears I had anaphylactic shock due to Hope’s new flea and tick collar.

I hope your Monday was a good day. If you feel up to it, do something creative before the day is over.

I would much appreciate your comments.

Smiles,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Laurie Kolp on June 4, 2012 - 10:01 pm

    Beautiful entry… I’m glad things turned out better for you.

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/a-concert-at-the-pavilion/

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 4, 2012 - 10:40 pm

      Thank you Laurie. I appreciate you visiting my blog. Today was a bit of a trial, but I am so glad it ended okay.

  2. #3 by TheOthers1 on June 4, 2012 - 10:14 pm

    Your flower photos are beautiful and I enjoyed your poetry.

  3. #5 by Hannah Gosselin on June 4, 2012 - 10:18 pm

    “These many poems
    That fall like dew from my mind”

    I love this line and I so enjoy your entire honest offering of pieces of your life. Thank you!

    • #6 by Hannah Gosselin on June 4, 2012 - 10:24 pm

    • #7 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 4, 2012 - 10:42 pm

      Thank you Hannah. I am glad there was something good about the poem. I was a bit hesitant to post it, because I doubted its merit. I hope you will come visit again.

      • #8 by Hannah Gosselin on June 4, 2012 - 10:45 pm

        There was lots good about it and I enjoy the easy way of your conversational bits especially your end message about finding time to be creative…very important! 🙂

      • #9 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 4, 2012 - 10:55 pm

        Thanks again Hannah. I try, as part of my Creativity Project, to encourage others to explore their own gifts of creation. One of my good friends has begun her own Creativity Project and I had a small hand in encouraging it. I sincerely believe everyone has gifts to explore.

      • #10 by Hannah Gosselin on June 4, 2012 - 11:23 pm

        I agree whole-heartedly, Jo Ann!! And it’s such a joy to use them once we know what they are. Smiles to you and your gifted endeavors! 🙂

      • #11 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 5, 2012 - 2:48 am

        Thank you Hannah. I am fortunate to have the opportunity to explore my creativity. I wish that everyone could. The world would be a happier place, because creation brings happiness, feelings of worth, and great peace.

  4. #12 by rosemary mint on June 4, 2012 - 11:02 pm

    I love the variety offered in this post–photos, nature, poetry, journal. I’m drawn to your handwriting; it’s quite unique and interesting.

    These are my favorite lines of your poem:
    “I write by edict”
    “A flick of my wrist
    Affixes my signature
    With a grand flourish
    To each of my endeavors”

    Thanks again for including the photos; what a nice touch. 🙂

    • #13 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 5, 2012 - 3:04 am

      Thank you for visiting my blog and for the prompt. I enjoyed writing to it. I do the variety most every day. It is the structure of my creativity project. The poems are something I have been doing each day since April. I am glad you liked some lines… I found the words challenging.

      I am glad you like my handwriting. I have practiced a lot to develop my style… it is kind of a combination of cursive, print, and calligraphy. I developed it over years.

      I do photos every day, or try anyway. I guess most of the people who participate with the prompts just post the poem, but for me the poem is just one element of my creation for the day. I hope it is acceptable to include the poem as part of a larger post. I am just trying to keep doing a poem each day and the prompts help.

      Thank you again for taking the time to visit, I hope you will come again.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

  5. #14 by Anne Katherine on June 5, 2012 - 8:55 pm

    Great photos! I am so sorry about the flea collar – that’s terrible.
    I love the second stanza to your poem – “I may dress in tulle/and paint my bright eyes with kohl.”
    You have a very unique and interesting site – I love your idea to do a journal!

    • #15 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 5, 2012 - 9:41 pm

      Thank you Anne Katherine. I have never had that kind of reaction to a flea and tick collar before, but this one is supposed to be very good.

      I am glad you liked the poem, I was not sure about it.

      I appreciate the compliment on my blog. I hoped it would be something rare on this crowded net.

      Please come back and visit again.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

  6. #16 by hobgoblin2011 on June 6, 2012 - 3:42 am

    Really nice job here. The creative process was a great choice for this piece. The Journal entry is a nice touch, and I love the photos, very nicely done. Thanks

    • #17 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 6, 2012 - 3:53 am

      Thank you so much. I am glad you liked what I created. I was not sure that such an overtly feminine choice of words would turn out well in such a form. I do the journal entry and photos every day. I hope you will come back and visit again. I am attempting a poem per day for my third month. Follow along if you like. Really appreciate your comments.

  7. #18 by julespaige on June 10, 2012 - 4:11 pm

    Arriving late to the party…Hope all is well and the new week is brighter. I have to offer a feminine warrior, original written for Monday Melting with a companion written for the Sunday Whirl wordle list, you can find them here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/06/monday-melting-20-journeyman-woman.html

    • #19 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 10, 2012 - 4:23 pm

      Thank you for reading Jules. This week looks to be starting well. I enjoyed your poems.

      Please come and visit again.

Leave a Reply

