365 Creativity Project-Day 148

Journal entry:

Journal 6-5-20120001

Today’s poetry prompt comes from Carry On Tuesday. I hope you will visit there if you need a bit of inspiration.

Not Only In Our Dreams

Our abilities,
Are hidden from outside sight
Most buried beneath
Competent layers, allowed
Free reign only in our dreams.

We strive to present
Such a pleasant appearance,
But we know ourselves
Less organized than surface
Characteristics portray.

Creativity
Runs deep within our life blood,
Nourishing our hearts,
Enlivening our busy
Moments with great excitement.

We are the writers,
The unknown starving artists,
Who work behind scenes
Little recognized beyond
Our own small circle of friends.

We can accomplish
Outstanding feats of daring
If we earnest try
To utilize our talents
More than only in our dreams.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0019

Purple beauties…

DSC_0020

Bud…

DSC_0023

Bloom…

DSC_0025

Dandelion…

DSC_0026

Wisteria…

DSC_0027

Weed…

DSC_0028

Day Lily…

I am grateful:

1.   I stayed up after a junk phone call woke me up.
2.   I was able to ease my mind about my annual review.
3.   Pizza was good for lunch.
4.   I finished my notebook.
5.   My printer has lasted longer than I expected.

I hope your Tuesday has gone well. There is plenty of time for you to create something beautiful. Write, draw, photograph, paint, carve, craft, or cook, just make a wonderful contribution to the world today.

Please leave a comment so I will know your thoughts.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Veronica Roth on June 5, 2012 - 10:43 pm

    I love your idea of changing the world thru our creations JoAnn! That’s exactly what I want to do. Your handwriting is beautiful. You should see mine. There’s no way I would ever photograph my morning pages. Good for you completing an entire journal; you must be proud. I’ve never done managed – that I can recall. Love seeing your photographs too. Don’t you just love photographing flowers? I guess they are always the perfect subject…you know…never moves and always smiles!
    PS. I create every day too. 🙂

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 5, 2012 - 11:02 pm

      Veronica,

      Nothing ever changes without people create something that moves things forward. If you continue in your efforts you will effect change if only within yourself, but I expect you to touch more lives and foment change in the world.

      Thank you for the compliment on my handwriting. Practice, you know!

      I am so happy to have completed a notebook. Now if I could just decide what to use next. I am having difficulty finding something that will work well on the scanner.

      Flowers are excellent photographic subjects, though today they were moving about in the wind.

      Keep creating and never stop. You will always be happier.

      Smiles,
      Jo Ann

  2. #3 by Kiril Kundurazieff on June 5, 2012 - 11:53 pm

    Congratulations!

    I hadn’t thought to start a journal until last fall when I began reading Julia Cameron.

    I had enough to do with my blogs! 😀

    Soon though I’d finished the Artist’s way Workbook, & its Morning Pages, and had to by a fancy journal to continue the MP’s, in February.

    I also bought a Molskine for evening Journaling.

    The 2nd MP will be filled in 5 days, and the Molskine in a month. 😀

    Loved your poem, especially the last 3 stanzas.

    When I bought a computer in 1998 it was the 1st step toward my re-discovering my creative side after a long dormancy, but it took more years for me to acknowledge what I knew inside me…I AM A WRITER.

    Haven’t made any money from it, yet, but the fact remains I AM A WRITER. 😀

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 7, 2012 - 2:36 am

      Kiril,

      I apologize, I did not know this comment had went to the spam folder. I rescued it. I unfortunately don’t check the spam regularly. I responded to these same comments on Facebook. I wanted to say again thank you so much for reading my blog and commenting.

      I really must get Julia Cameron’s books out and read them. They sit on the shelf, but I have not taken the time to open them in years. They seem to be such inspiration to you that perhaps I could gain something from them as well. You certainly are doing a lot of writing, with Morning Pages, an evening journal, your blog, the cat blogs. I am impressed.

      I am glad you enjoyed the poem. Maybe I am getting better at writing them.

      My new computer is the reason I started my Creativity Project. I wanted to put the investment to good use. Computers are excellent creative tools.

      You are definitely a WRITER, and one day you will see reward for it in cash. I am a WRITER, too. If only for my own pleasure.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

  3. #5 by Maharukh on June 6, 2012 - 1:27 am

    we are writers the unknown starving artist… 🙂
    wow wonderfully expresses the urge to change the world 🙂

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 6, 2012 - 1:35 am

      Thank you so much for reading. I am glad you liked the poem. I think we as creative beings do change the world.

      I hope you will come and visit again.

  4. #7 by magicalmysticalteacher on June 6, 2012 - 1:40 pm

    Literature, poetry: They start with a dream. But, as your poem suggests, we have to go beyond dreaming and get to work!

    (Did you perhaps have a slip of the fingers in the phrase “allowed free reign”? My understanding is that this is an old term that horsemen used, when they wanted to let the horse guide the way, hence: “free rein.”)

    Only in Our Dreams

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 6, 2012 - 2:33 pm

      I believe we are at our best when we allow our dreams to flood our lives with creativity and then turn that into something that reaches others.

      I actually played on the phrase free rein, by using the word reign instead, meaning to have the connotation of both. Letting the abilities lead where they would, but also letting them rule without restraint… It was a bit of poetic license on my part to use it that way. You were highly observant to notice it. I play with words a little on occasion. Do you think I should correct it though? I don’t mean to be improper.

      Thank you for taking time to read my blog entry. I hope you will come again. Such insightful comments are always more than welcome.

  5. #9 by Hannah Gosselin on June 6, 2012 - 3:09 pm

    Beautiful images and words!! Cheers to creativity, Jo Ann!

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 6, 2012 - 9:07 pm

      Thank you Hannah. So nice of you to stop by again. Creativity is the spice that makes life tastier.

      • #11 by Hannah Gosselin on June 6, 2012 - 9:13 pm

        I SO agree!! Bring on the curry. 😉

      • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 6, 2012 - 10:42 pm

        You know, I have never eaten curry… not sure I even know what it is. I shall try to continue with the creativity though. I have a lot of project left to complete.

      • #13 by Hannah Gosselin on June 6, 2012 - 10:51 pm

        It’s pretty good…found used with Indian food. Smiles and good luck!

Leave a Reply

