365 Creativity Project-Day 151

Journal entry:

Journal 6-8-20120001

Explanation

My mind fields do not
Lie fallow under bright light
Of close inspection,
They are planted fully well
With such acute construction.

Concepts grow strong free
Undaunted by strangling weeds
Of dark repression,
Words crop up that with great force
Contend for their expression.

My explosive thoughts
Lie buried near the surface
Where interjection
Will have the most positive
Effect without a question.

Words are my weapons
To conquer the negatives
The opposition
Presents to overcome all
My thoughts on exposition.

I fight the good fight
If only within my mind
To decommission
Everything that leads toward
Creative prohibition.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Friday, June 8, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

DSC_0049

I am grateful:

1.   I got up early this morning.
2.   I wrote a poem without a prompt.
3.   Mom got up with me.
4.   There is much beauty here on our property.
5.   I enjoy exploring my creativity.

It is a beautiful Friday here. I hope your day is enjoyable. Get your camera out and take some pictures, write a poem or story, journal, draw or paint something… You get the idea, I want you to do something creative. I know you can because you are at least as gifted as I am. It does not have to be perfect, just make the effort, practice will lead to improvement. Every day gives you an opportunity to exercise your creative license.

I would love to read your comments…

Always,
Jo Ann

 

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Khara House on June 8, 2012 - 9:20 pm

    Lovely poem, JoAnn! And I love the photographs you shared; simply beautiful. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 8, 2012 - 9:24 pm

      Thank you Khara. I surely appreciate your visiting my blog. I am glad you like the poem. The pictures came from around the property. I am fortunate to live near such beauty.

      Please come back and visit again.

  2. #3 by sorrygnat on June 8, 2012 - 10:17 pm

    There’s a lot of strength in this poem – strength and resolve. I loved the pictures also; it goes together – the photos and the poem

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 12:28 am

      Esther, thank you so much. I am glad you read it that way. The pictures were rather random, but I am glad you think they go with the poem.

      I appreciate you taking time to visit my blog and comment.

  3. #5 by Kiril Kundurazieff on June 8, 2012 - 11:29 pm

    Great poem! I particularly liked the concet of ideas & words fighting for the right to express themselves.

    Cool flower pics as well.

    I finshed writing in my 2nd Morning Pages Journal, this morning, and now have to start a new one! 😀

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 8, 2012 - 11:37 pm

      Thank you Kiril. There are two images I was trying to present in the poem, a growing field, and a mind field (mine field). I don’t know if it really worked. I think you got the explosive quality of words and thoughts. I was not sure even that would come across.

      The flowers are a benefit of living here.

      Congratulations on finishing your Morning Pages Journal. I know it is a good feeling.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. It means a lot to me.

  4. #7 by danadampier on June 8, 2012 - 11:44 pm

    “Words are my weapons”
    This line really speaks to me because it’s my truth. I love poem and pics!

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 12:19 am

      Thank you Dana. I kind of like that line too. The poem really flowed today, so I was fortunate. I am glad you liked both the poem and pictures. Though they really are not related I like to do something visual as well as writing.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. I appreciate it so very much.

      • #9 by danadampier on June 11, 2012 - 12:24 pm

        Art is art wether it’s words or pictures! The way you presented it worked great.

      • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 11, 2012 - 6:41 pm

        Thanks so much, Dana. I hope to present a variety of creative work, and maybe have it perceived as art.

  5. #11 by Amy on June 8, 2012 - 11:59 pm

    Nicely done, Jo Ann. The poem, the photos … perfect.
    I’ll have to find a copy of “A Poet’s Craft.”

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 12:25 am

      Thank you Amy. The poem was a gift today, did not have to wrestle with the words. I am glad I live in a place that has such beauty.

      You really should get A Poet’s Craft. It is available on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0472033646/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i01 It is a bit expensive because it can be considered a textbook, but it is well worth it. Annie Finch has a conversational style that is very appealing.

      • #13 by Amy on June 9, 2012 - 12:51 am

        Hmm. Looks like I will have to start saving. 🙂

      • #14 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 12:55 am

        Amy,

        It has actually come down since when I bought it two weeks ago. I am on about page 200 and it continues to be a great book. I hope you don’t have to save too long. By the way this is around 700 pages of book, not light reading.

      • #15 by Amy on June 9, 2012 - 1:03 am

        Oh, don’t you hate it when you buy something and then the price goes down?
        It’s not terribly expensive, but I need to get through the other books on writing that are piling up. Or I can drop hints to family members. LOL!
        Thanks, Jo Ann.

      • #16 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 1:16 am

        Amy, it is an awful thing to have the price drop right after you buy an item… $2.00 no less.

        I am sure you will enjoy the book when you get it. It is so detailed and informational.

  6. #17 by katiegirl06460 on June 9, 2012 - 7:17 am

    excellent entry….unfortunately I am not a poet…

    • #18 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 4:32 pm

      Katie,

      Thank you so much. Don’t feel you must be a poet to create, use your talent. I know you have it. Whatever you share enriches the world.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

  7. #19 by Laura Diane on June 9, 2012 - 1:17 pm

    Beautiful poem expressing your personal power and strength. I love it!

    The purple flowers just brightened my entire day! They are beautiful. It’s cold and rainy here again in Idaho so the beauty is welcomed more than ever.

    Have a great Saturday.
    Laura

    • #20 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 9, 2012 - 4:36 pm

      Laura,

      I was pleasantly surprised by this poem, no prompt, just my own thoughts.

      I am glad the flowers brightened your day. I am sorry you are having such weather. It has been beautiful here.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

