365 Creativity Project-Day 155

Journal entry:

Journal 6-12-20120001

My poem today is in answer to the prompt at Carry On Tuesday. You might want to go there for some inspiration. I am considering starting a prompt here on Chronicles. I made three journals with a prompt on each page several years ago and think they would be worth using here. If the idea appeals to you, please let me know.

So Over You

No more illusions
The blinders are off my eyes,
I can see clearly
Now that I have decided
To move forward with my life.

You were not really
Mine for such a long, long time,
You played upon my
Emotions keeping me tied
To you after it ended.

I will surely find
Another who will tight cling
To me in sweet bliss
And you will be forgotten,
A part of my history.

I can see clearly
Now that the future will be
Greater than the past,
For this my present is full
Of glorious happiness.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0060

Peace Lily…

DSC_0061

New bud…

I am grateful:

1.   Even though I did not take a notebook I was able to write a poem in town.
2.   Mom was able to go in Wal-Mart with me and shop.
3.   I do not have to go to town tomorrow.
4.   Diet Cokes were only $5.98 a case.
5.   I rested a while before posting this blog entry.

I hope your Tuesday went well. If you have not already done so, you should create something. There is plenty you can do, so you have no excuse for leaving it undone.

I would appreciate it if you leave me a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Old Grizz on June 12, 2012 - 11:28 pm

    It’s tough to slam the door on a broken heart…but it’s wise to move on…there will be others…I have always lived my life by accepting what has happen and then move on. dwelling on bitterness only hurts me…no one else…if I decide to have a pity party, I do it alone…good luck

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 13, 2012 - 10:52 pm

      Thank you for reading. I am mostly over all the brokenness. I am content in my life as it is now. If someone new comes along, good, if not I will not dwell in unhappiness.

      I am so glad you visited and left a comment. I hope you will return.

  2. #3 by Kathi Hale on June 12, 2012 - 11:31 pm

    I am sorry to hear of your mom’s kidney problems…I don’t think I knew before this that she had a problem here….is it related to Parkinson’s? I agree with you about staying home…the world out there can be ugly and mean and none of us need the stress you went through today….I have real problems watching people with EBT buying what I don’t….regular brands, not generics, meat, etc….

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 12, 2012 - 11:46 pm

      Kathi,

      The kidney problems are ongoing. It is getting worse all the time. I don’t think it is related to Parkinson’s. She took Celebrex for years and one of the side effects, which we did not know about, is kidney damage. Thank you for your concern… please keep her in your prayers.

      I am getting to the point I hate going out. Every time I go it is stressful.

      I don’t qualify for foodstamps or EBT even though my income is well below the poverty level. This woman bought six large bags of brand name potato chips, a large box of the name brand single size potato chips, three cases of the most expensive brand of bottled water, a warehouse sized case of Cokes, gourmet sandwich meat, and some other items. She and her two teenagers were dressed in new shoes and clothes and she took forever paying. I was so frustrated.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. Have not seen you here in so long.

      Always,
      Jo Ann

  3. #5 by Raymond on June 13, 2012 - 11:36 am

    I worry about you staying home rather than face stress. As someone who still struggles with agoraphobia, that can create a prison. Is there someone you can talk to about keeping a healthy balance>

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 13, 2012 - 1:07 pm

      Ray, I go out quite a bit. I just dislike it. There are things I must do in town and I do them, but I enjoy staying home. I think I am fairly balanced in this regard. It just is not pleasant to go to town most times and I wish people were nicer. Even when I am disappointed I try to be civil with people and keep a smile on my face. I don’t understand those who are rude and mean. Why would anyone treat a perfect stranger with hate?

  4. #7 by startingthedialogue on June 13, 2012 - 1:43 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,
    I am sorry about your mom’s kidney issues. As a nurse I continually hear of side effects from medications prescribed years before and it irritates me that pharmaceutical companies promote drugs in the name of profit that cause severe issues for the people they are supposedly be helping. I could rant on this for a long time, but will get off the soap box.

    I empathize with your plight about going out. I had to really learn that when someone treats me badly it is usually because of their own issues and has nothing to do with me. It may seem unfair, but by judging them negatively I only add to the problem so now I don’t allow it to have any effect on me. It took a long time to get to that point of understanding or allowance but it now makes my life much more pleasant. Some have told me I am in denial, but actually, how can it be denial when the issues are not mine to deal with.

    Keep doing what you’re doing. You are aware of what works for you and that’s the most important step. Today’s poem was great.

    Have a wonderful afternoon.
    Laura

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 13, 2012 - 5:01 pm

      Thank you Laura for your kindness. I think almost all medications have side effects that we are not completely aware of, but sometimes there are benefits we need. Everything is at your own risk, and that is somewhat unfair, but so is a majority of life. I hope that the strong medicines I am on do not cause terrible consequences in the future.

      My Mom said something along the same lines as your way of dealing with the negative people yesterday afternoon. I guess I am overly sensitive, and I will be working toward becoming less emotionally involved in chance meetings.

      I am glad you liked the poem. Please visit again. I appreciate your comments so much.

  5. #9 by Hannah Gosselin on June 13, 2012 - 4:52 pm

    This is a winning equation = Your future is > than your past. I enjoyed your poem and am sorry about your mom’s illness and rude people. I’m gladdened by your positive spirit. Beautiful peace lily, too! Smiles to you, Jo Ann.

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 13, 2012 - 5:08 pm

      I am glad that a positive message came from the poem Hannah.

      Thank you for the kind thoughts toward my Mom.

      I am going to try to be less sensitive to people’s rudeness.

      Being positive is much more conducive to happiness than negativity. I try to lift my spirits even though there are many difficult situations in my life. It is better to smile than frown.

      Thank you for the smiles…

      • #11 by Hannah Gosselin on June 13, 2012 - 5:10 pm

        You’ve got it right…it can be really hard and I try to do the same, too. You’re welcome, Jo Ann!

Leave a Reply

