365 Creativity Project-Day 167

Journal entry:

Journal 6-24-20120001

The prompt for today’s poem came from The Sunday Whirl. The words in italics were given on that site. If you want a challenge, visit the site and create something the words suggest.

Overcoming

Haunted by demons
Who appear at the
sunset
Invading domain
Through the wide open window
Of deeply flawed tortured soul.

The whistle echoes
Off the ample granite walls
Where only a scrap
Of the montage continues
To remain so fully trapped.

The days scented by
Jasmine that wafts through the air
Encourage freedom
Allowing feelings to rise
Above the gravest of fears.

Capabilities
Reach beyond limitation
Begetting success
That lasts much longer than just
This one fast fleeting moment.

The angels surround
Interior of the heart
Whispering kindness
That raises every being
Into spiritual triumph.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, June 24, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0118

Penny…

DSC_0119

Ko-Ko…

DSC_0124

Hope…

I am grateful:

1.   The love of our dogs encourages me to be more loving.
2.   I set out beef ribs last night to cook for supper today.
3.   I am inspired by my Mom’s positive spirit in spite of her infirmities.
4.   All prayers are answered in God’s will and timeframe.
5.   My folder of poems is growing thicker.

I hope your Sunday has provided rest and relaxation. I urge you to devote some time to creating something. It can be anything you desire, but do not let the day pass by without nurturing your creativity. You have much to contribute to the world if you will only do it.

My prompt for today is to write about a treasured pet. You may also draw, photograph, or collage using their image. Perhaps you only have memories of a pet, or dreams of owning one, you can write from these. If you use the prompt please leave a link to your work in the comments.

If you have suggestions or would like to share your thoughts, please leave me a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by startingthedialogue on June 25, 2012 - 11:30 am

    Penny’s picture looked like she was on the scent of something interesting! Hope you had a great weekend!
    Laura

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 25, 2012 - 6:23 pm

      Penny is the hardest of the dogs to catch a picture of, Laura. She always blinks and jumps. The weekend was very good.

  2. #3 by Mary on June 25, 2012 - 7:05 pm

    I love the optimism in your Wordle poem. So intricately penned.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 25, 2012 - 7:38 pm

      Thank you Mary. I did quite a turn about to bring optimism into it. I was not sure it worked. I am glad you liked it.

      Thank you for visiting and commenting… please come back again.

  3. #5 by Veronica Roth on June 26, 2012 - 12:43 am

    Jo Ann, Oh my gosh those are three of the cutest little Ewok faces I’ve ever seen! You’re so, so good at the optimism and it’s so inspiring for a depressive like me. I’ve begun writing down your grateful for lines with a twist to my situation, (I don’t have a dog :(). Thank you for the inspiration.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 26, 2012 - 12:52 am

      Veronica,

      Don’t they look like Ewok’s or the little creatures that were so cute before they became Gremlins?

      I have to stay positive or I would break down… I am glad I am able to share optimism with others. Writing gratitude lists is an excellent way to lift your spirits. I hope it becomes a habit for you. Try to remember how much you are loved too, it helps combat depression.

      Dogs are fantastic if you have the place for one in your life. So many of them are in need of a loving home.

  4. #7 by JulesPaige on June 27, 2012 - 2:08 pm

    I always try to see the glass half full, if not completely full. I’ve got some elder relatives that have ailments that can fill pages – And yet while they do seem to sometimes complain…they do try to live as best they can. One is almost 90, the other mid to late 70’s. You remind me that a while ago when I belonged to a book club…I picked up a more or less blank book…A real book called The Gratitude Book (or some such) with the request to put something you are grateful for and then pass it along. I’m not sure where it is – The final request was to send the full book back to me. I think the last known country it was in was the Netherlands. I bet you could do a smaller version with just a greeting card to an elder or even the nurses in a retirement community…

    Well anyway my musing – the short version is here (with a link to the continuing story verse that I wrote with wordles and a Rosemary Mint list at the bottom) enjoy:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/06/sunday-whirl-62-crust-2.html

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 27, 2012 - 6:36 pm

      I try to look at it in a positive light myself Jules. Sending a gratitude journal out to others sounds like an interesting thing to do. I interact with a group that does journal swaps from time to time, although I have not participated yet.

      I enjoyed your poem. Thank you for visiting my blog, and please come again.

  5. #9 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 26, 2012 - 5:07 pm

    Enjoyed your musings… Thanks for sharing and linking here.

  1. Sunday whirl...little late...but there are daemons! |
  2. Sunday whirl...little late...but there are daemons! |

Leave a Reply

