365 Creativity Project-Day 168

Journal entry:

Journal 6-25-20120001

I created the following poem using the words from Rosemary Mint. The prompt words are in italics. You might visit that site and see what the words suggest to you.

Give Me Shelter

It is natural
To feel some serenity
Listening to rain
Drum on the roof overhead
In the midst of thunderstorms.

A sweet mixed serum,
Patchouli and sandalwood,
Delights the noses
Of café patrons drinking
Espresso, cozy and dry.

A rose in a vase
Alone adorns a table
Where a young hippie
Sips raspberry herbal tea
In a bright tie-dye sundress.

Where once opium
Was brought to market now stand
Karaoke bars
And gyms where yoga is used
To sculpt bodies lean and hard.

Times have really changed
In many parts of our town,
Now safer by far
For citizens seeking some
Shelter from a pop up storm.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Monday, June 25, 2012

Artwork:

I Love You Canvas0001

A simple painted piece I did for my Mom…

Photographs:

DSC_0130

DSC_0133

DSC_0134

I am grateful:

1.   Other creative people make their ideas available on the internet.
2.   We had gasoline to give Jeremy when he came down yesterday.
3.   There was hot water for my shower.
4.   Air conditioning makes these sweltering days bearable.
5.   June is bringing pizza for supper.

I hope your Monday has been good. You can make it a better day by doing something creative. When you use your gifts it can make you much happier.

If you need a prompt today, write about your favorite color. Color adds so much to our lives, it should not be hard for you to create something about your favorite. If you use this prompt, please leave a link to your work in the comments.

If you have suggestions, or enjoyed today’s blog, please leave a comment below.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by startingthedialogue on June 25, 2012 - 5:22 pm

    Pizza for supper seems to be the norm tonight. It’s what we’re having as well. This morning the clouds gathered, dropped a torrential rain while lightning and thunder pounded the skies. Then the sun broke through the birds were singing and everything was brilliant green. Now it’s thundering and threatening to storm again. Now I remember why things are so green on the east coast–it rains alot in summer. Have a great evening.
    Laura

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 25, 2012 - 6:27 pm

      We had Papa John’s, Laura. We have it from time to time and Mom’s best friend June loves to come out and visit with us making it a pizza night.

      Our weather is being so dry… lots of stuff is dying. I love rain as long as it does not thunder. Hope is scared of thunder.

  2. #3 by rosemary mint on June 25, 2012 - 6:17 pm

    I just love those giant closeups of flowers. Great shots!

    “Of café patrons drinking
    Espresso, cozy and dry.” … I love to watch the rain sitting inside with a hot drink. I also love to stand in it getting cold and wet. 🙂

    “Where once opium
    Was brought to market now stand
    Karaoke bars” … What an excellent point. How things change.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 25, 2012 - 6:32 pm

      I am so glad you like the pictures. I am lucky enough to have a few plants in bloom.

      I kept trying to pull the poem back to the rain since I set it up in the first stanza. I am glad it evoked a response in you.

      Things tend to be different from time to time… I think some things do improve.

      Thank you for reading. I am glad you visited again.

  3. #5 by Archna on June 25, 2012 - 9:24 pm

    Thank you for the suggestions. It sounds like home is a delightful place. Your words are comforting, I especially like the sweet mix you’ve provided for our senses.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 25, 2012 - 9:49 pm

      Thank you for reading Archna. My home is very pleasant. I am glad you enjoyed the mix of things you found here.

      I hope you will visit again.

  4. #7 by Hannah Gosselin on June 26, 2012 - 12:11 am

    Your opening in the rain was perfect!! It is raining a drumming rhythm as I read!! Great writing and flower photos!!

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 26, 2012 - 12:18 am

      Seems like the rainy opening is a hit. It was sunny and dry here. The words just suggested it, and I love the tattoo of rain on the roof. I am glad you liked the writing and photographs.

      Hannah thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting. It is always nice to know what you like.

  5. #9 by TheOthers1 on June 26, 2012 - 12:20 am

    I love the first stanza a lot. Just makes me think of lying in the bed on a stormy day. Lovely

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 26, 2012 - 12:24 am

      Thank you so much… Rain is one of my favorite things to help me sleep. It is so dry here right now, I am wishing for rain.

      I am glad you liked what I wrote. Thank you for visiting and commenting.

  6. #11 by cloudfactor5 on June 26, 2012 - 7:19 am

    Your words have painted a beautiful scene with a side story to boot!! Great poem and nice photo’s also!!

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on June 26, 2012 - 4:55 pm

      Thank you so much. I am glad you found something worthwhile here. The images seemed to flow effortlessly. Please come back and visit again.

Leave a Reply

