365 Creativity Project-Day 176

Journal entry:

Journal 7-3-20120001

Because It Is True

I am a Christian,
I have faith in Jesus Christ,
I believe respect
Should be given to others
With their differing beliefs.

I am Democrat,
But I am a patriot,
I believe freedom
Is for every one of us,
I do love America.

I have a real heart,
I have a tender conscience,
I am helpful to
Others who are in great need,
I live with due diligence.

I am really not
Republican’s enemy,
I am a person
The same as any other
Living life the best I can.

I do not rant and
Rail with despicable strife
Against people who
Hold opposing opinions,
Even when they spit upon me.

I am not a dog
To be kicked around this place,
I have the same right
To follow my convictions
As anyone living here.

This America
Belongs to me as much as
It does to others,
And I will exercise rights
I am allowed completely.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0186

DSC_0187

DSC_0188

I am grateful:

1.   I live in the United States of America.
2.   I have personal freedom.
3.   My beautiful dog, Hope, loves me.
4.   I have a place to live.
5.   I have food to eat.

I hope your Tuesday has been pleasant. I hope you will make an effort to do something creative now. I believe you have the ability and talent to make a contribution to our world. Creativity is a blessing you can share with others.

If you need a prompt, write about something you feel about strongly. It could be your religion, your politics, your race, your job, your family, a charity, or anything else. If you use the prompt please leave a link to your work in the comments here so we can share your creation.

I realize you may disagree with my entry today, but whatever you have to share I would love to read your comment. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, it means a lot to me.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ckswarriorqueen on July 3, 2012 - 8:37 pm

    ❤ JoAnn, your sincerity and heart are a blessing to the world. Thank you. ❤

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 3, 2012 - 9:48 pm

      Thank you… I was really afraid to make this post, thought it would be unpopular, but I kept seeing that cruel remark on Facebook and felt I had to rebut it. I often have very disparaging remarks from Republicans, because many of my Facebook friends are of that party, and sometimes it hurts.

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

  2. #3 by Laura on July 3, 2012 - 9:24 pm

    Hi Jo Ann,,
    Thank you for sharing your feelings. We should all respect one another regardless of any difference of opinion and you point that out so nicely.

    If we were all of the same opinion life would be boring, but respectful interchange of ideas and experiences is our right as free citizens in a free country. You make it so clear–share that poem far and wide–it’s message is invaluable.

    Have a great 4th and thank you for being the proud mother of a US Marine. You raised your son to be proud of his country.

    Laura

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 3, 2012 - 10:00 pm

      Laura, thanks for commenting. I was so afraid this post would be hated. I think I was just so hurt by the comments coming over Facebook that I could not remain silent. I try to stay out of politics, because I know my opinion is unpopular… but sometimes a person has to speak out. I love other people and to be judged as less than human seems so unfair.

      We are staying home for the 4th… My son does not even vote, because he dislikes the system, but he loves the United States enough to serve.

  3. #5 by Amanda Socci on July 3, 2012 - 9:53 pm

    JoAnn: I am sorry you have felt offended by comments from others stating that certain people should stay away during Independence Day. I am offended by many things almost on a daily basis. It is up to me, and you, to let those comments build into steel offenses or melt away like the buttery slope of nonsense that they are. Try your best to not let it get to you personally.

    Your journal entry was beautiful, the poem was sensational, and the photographs are stunning.

    The subject matter about which I feel most strongly these days is my faith. I write about faith from the perspective of sharing real, personal problems that have happened to me, and ways that I dealt with those problems positively by drawing on my faith.

    You have asked your readers to share links of work regarding topics that we feel strongly about. Pursuant to your request, I am sharing the main link where my faith blog “A Slice of Faith” appears: http://mountvernon.patch.com.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 4, 2012 - 12:23 am

      Amanda, these tirades go on daily, and this today was just a little more than I could take. I love my country and I have a family that has supported this country through military service. I have a right to celebrate Independence Day, as does any other American. I don’t mean to say anyone should not have Freedom of Speech, just that people should consider what they are saying. I try to overlook most of the inanities, but sometime I cannot hold my tongue against blatant prejudice.

      Thank you for reading what I wrote. It came from the heart. The photographs turned out better than I expected. Sometimes I am fortunate to hold the camera right.

      I followed your link and read the article you wrote about your husband being shamelessly used. People have so little respect for others these days. If I was not a person of faith, believing God rewards justly, I could become very bitter. I continue to hope and dream. I hold that better days will come, if not here on Earth, then in Heaven.

      Thank you for sharing your link. I enjoyed reading your work.

      Please visit my blog again.

  4. #7 by danadampier on July 3, 2012 - 11:35 pm

    We do have freedom of speech, but as human beings there is one line we should not cross… it is never okay to bully, to think we are better than others, or to disrespect another.

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 4, 2012 - 12:26 am

      Dana, I felt that comment that kept showing up on Facebook supported by my “friends” crossed the line. Maybe I am too sensitive, but I was moved to write when I could think of nothing to write.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I appreciate it more than you can know.

      • #9 by danadampier on July 5, 2012 - 11:12 pm

        Sometimes people get too wrapped up in the “joke” and don’t realize the potential it has to hurt someone.

      • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 5, 2012 - 11:21 pm

        Yeah, and sometimes people don’t think at all. I got a decent journal entry and poem out of it, so it all worked out well.

  5. #11 by katiegirl06460 on July 4, 2012 - 10:32 am

    Some people are ignorant and do not know what they are talking about. President Obama is doing a good job and with the best intentions. If any of them can do a better job then they should run for office.

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 4, 2012 - 8:02 pm

      I think at this time no one could right all the problems our nation faces and I do believe President Obama is doing the best he can given the situation. A president in reality has very little power, he is mostly a figurehead. I certainly have no desire to see Romney come to power.

Leave a Reply

