365 Creativity Project-Day 181

Journal entry:

Journal 7-8-20120001

My poem today is in answer to the prompt at The Sunday Whirl. The italicized words in the poem were supplied by that site. If you are in need of inspiration you might find the prompt helpful, so go visit.

Fair Warning

Ignorant men spurn
Housewives who fall deeply and
Completely in love
With them expecting to spend
Eternity in marriage.

These unlikely chaps
Spend months subtracting themselves
From every year where
They think their balls must retire
In dusty musty drawers.

They avoid the sting
Of soft words penetrating
The tough outer rind
Of the skin they build around
Their ruthless unfaithful hearts.

These unenlightened
Creatures believe privilege
Allows them to use
Women only as playthings,
Discarded after handling.

Ladies do beware
Keeping your sweet affections
For appreciative
Men who know full well to treat
Their partners with great respect.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, July 8, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0213

DSC_0216

DSC_0217

DSC_0220

I am grateful:

1.   I woke up early again this morning.
2.   The Sunday Whirl gave me an interesting list of words with which to work.
3.   I enjoyed listening to some music from my iPod and Bose SoundDock.
4.   The televangelists gave inspiring messages today.
5.   We are halfway through reading the Bible completely this year.

I hope your Sunday has been relaxing allowing you many enjoyable moments. Take time to create something now, if you have not already today. It will help complete your day and make you feel you have accomplished much.

If you need a prompt write about something you learned this week. We are bombarded by information each day, so I am sure you encountered something new. If you use this prompt please leave a link to your work in the comments so we can enjoy your creation and perhaps learn something ourselves.

I am so glad you took the time to read my blog, please leave me a comment about your experience.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mary on July 8, 2012 - 7:32 pm

    I enjoyed your Wordle Poem! Women definitely DO need to save themselves for appreciative men.

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 8, 2012 - 11:17 pm

      Thank you Mary, I am glad you liked it. I was afraid it might be a bit risque. Women who wait for good men are always happier.

  2. #3 by brenda w on July 8, 2012 - 8:30 pm

    I am lucky to have a good man as husband. Your poem definitely shed a light on my blessing. Thank you Jo Ann. The positivity that shines through your journal was good for me to read.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 8, 2012 - 11:19 pm

      Brenda, you are very fortunate to have a good husband. I have had three, and none of them worked out well. The poem was not really because of them, but a general comment.

      Thank you for reading and please come back again. I am glad the journal entry was helpful.

  3. #5 by margo roby on July 8, 2012 - 11:52 pm

    Jo Ann, I enjoyed that you took this in the direction of the husband and included his possible part in a scenario. As ever, I enjoy wandering through your pages. I leave with a smile.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 9, 2012 - 3:01 pm

      Thank you Margo. I was stumped by those words at first, then just began playing around with them a bit. I was pleasantly surprised where they took me.

      Thank you for visiting my blog. I am glad you enjoy it. Please come again, and thanks so much for the comment. Feedback is priceless.

  4. #7 by purplepeninportland on July 9, 2012 - 3:12 pm

    Jo Ann, We did have similar vision on this one. Your third stanza kept me laughing.

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 9, 2012 - 6:44 pm

      I am glad what I did made you laugh. I thought it was a bit funny too. Playing with words can be interesting.

      Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you will find your way back again.

  5. #9 by JulesPaige on July 9, 2012 - 5:48 pm

    Your words remind me of the play Into The Woods. Three stories interlinked – one where the hansom prince is not so hansom…
    Glad you are enjoying wordles, mine is here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/07/sw-64-wordle-diamond-in-rough.html

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 9, 2012 - 6:49 pm

      Jules, I am glad you liked the poem. Definitely true that some are not so handsome…

      The wordles challenge me. Sometimes I have no idea what to write.

  6. #11 by Veronica Roth on July 10, 2012 - 3:39 am

    Fun wordle Jo Ann. I’m glad you wrote of a little trouble with it this week; makes me feel like I’m not alone.:) I love the photographs after the rain. It’s all so fresh and new then, isn’t it?

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 10, 2012 - 8:58 pm

      Veronica, I looked at those words, and went, what in the world can I make of this? I thought about it a while and then just dove into writing.

      I love the way the air smells so fresh right after a rain. Wish I could bottle that aroma and spray it inside.

  1. Sunday whirl...a little late...but there's this jet-lag thing |

Leave a Reply

