365 Creativity Project-Day 188

Journal entry:

Journal 7-15-20120001

Today’s poem was prompted by The Sunday Whirl. I altered a few words this time, but the ones from the prompt are in italics. If you are up for a challenge visit that site and try to make something of the wordle.

Going Forward

The gravity of
Your humility triggers
A chain reaction
Threatening to crack straight through
The grittle of daily life.

You fully refrain
From casting the flickering
Spray of your prideful
Swells planted in youthful days,
But claim peace with great relish.

Passing into age
You go with wonderful grace
Toward tomorrow
Knowing the days may be short,
Yet spending each very well.

I share the honor
Of being a companion
In your courageous
Journey to exceed all your
Previous expectations.

I celebrate you,
Because you have now become
A true example
Of living happily with
Contrary circumstances.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, July 15, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0239

Golf course…

DSC_0240

Greenway…

DSC_0243

Pool…

I am grateful:

1.   My best friend, Reba, called me this morning.
2.   The birthday cake was good at breakfast even though it had to be refrigerated to save it from ants.
3.   I walked up to Linda’s and talked to Jeremy a few minutes.
4.   Penny is still here, and seems to be feeling better.
5.   The world is a beautiful place.

I hope you have enjoyed your Sunday. Get yourself busy and do something creative. Write a poem, a short story, work on the great American (insert other country) novel, paint, draw, or take a photograph.

If you need a prompt, write about your parents. This should give you ample material. My poem today was loosely based on my mother, and you could no doubt come up with a poem. If you use this prompt, please leave a link to your work in the comments so we may enjoy your creation.

I hope you enjoyed your visit here today. I would love to know your thoughts, so please leave a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sorrygnat on July 15, 2012 - 6:02 pm

    awesome post, and good poem – you don’t look your age; you’ve earned your wisdom though, and it was lovely of you to share

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 15, 2012 - 11:17 pm

      Thank you Esther. I am glad you enjoyed the post and poem. Wisdom is often learned through experience, and I have had my share. I hope you will visit again.

  2. #3 by Veronica Roth on July 16, 2012 - 3:58 am

    Thank you for writing from your heart. There’s too little of that these days. Your journal entry is an example of why Robert said you’re a brave soul. I believe it’s true. I’m glad you had a nice birthday. 🙂

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 16, 2012 - 11:41 pm

      Veronica, my heart is what I have to share. There is not a whole lot else I can give, so I try to let others into a bit of my life. I appreciate the compliment about being brave, not too sure I really am, but it is nice to know someone thinks it of me. I have learned that sharing experience might help others, so I try.

      My birthday was most excellent.

  3. #5 by brenda w on July 16, 2012 - 9:07 am

    It’s so important to walk with grace into our old age… I’m 50 now, Jo Ann. Hoo rah! Half a century…tis a big deal to me. I enjoyed the honesty of your write. Thanks so much.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 16, 2012 - 11:46 pm

      Brenda, my Mom shows great courage and grace everyday. I hope to be as brave as she is should I reach her age. I will be 50 next year. 50 is wonderful, enjoy your year. I have learned that sharing honestly can inform others, so I open up. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to my blog. Please come again.

  4. #7 by gautami tripathy on July 16, 2012 - 12:08 pm

    You touched my heart with your poem, your thoughts….

    planted ruminations

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 16, 2012 - 11:47 pm

      Thank you Gautami. I am glad you found my musings worthwhile. Please visit again.

  5. #9 by Laura Diane on July 16, 2012 - 12:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing your wisdom and your trials. I’m so glad your suicide attempts weren’t successful. You have so much to offer the world. Loved the poem too!
    Laura

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 16, 2012 - 11:50 pm

      Laura, I have lived through a lot. Much of the unpleasantness was due to my own bad choices. I hope I choose better now, I try. I am very glad I am still here. There is so much good I would have missed. I hope by speaking out, others can gain something from my experience.

      Glad you liked the poem… it was a bit hard to figure out.

  6. #11 by Misky on July 17, 2012 - 3:46 am

    So heartleft and touching. Nicely written.

    ~Misky
    http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/burn/

  7. #13 by JulesPaige on July 17, 2012 - 11:26 am

    Age is a relative thing…being called my son’s wife more than once… Chronological age is different than what you really are – so I read somewhere by how you live and what you have lived through. Continued success on living creatively. I’ve only worried about age once – that was when I was in a similar place to a loved one when they passed. Other than that I don’t worry about it. Though in a few years (or more) I’ll be able to take that senior discount 🙂 Each day is a Birth Day, renewing hope and love.

    My wordle is here – enjoy – thanks for adding your spirit into the mix – I have tried to read them all this week…getting there…:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/07/sw-wordle-65-evening-odds.html

    • #14 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 18, 2012 - 12:00 am

      Thank you for reading and commenting. It is admirable that you are visiting all the wordlers. I visited many myself.

      I am not so much worrying over age. Just numbers, and numbers have never held much significance for me. I was mistaken for my son’s girlfriend not so long ago.

      Each day is indeed a special treasure.

Leave a Reply

