365 Creativity Project-Day 195

Journal entry:

Journal 7-22-20120001

Today’s poem is in answer to the prompt at The Sunday Whirl. If you need a jolt of inspiration you might visit there. The words in italics came from the wordle there.

Bringing Cheer

Deep melancholy
Makes rosy cheeked faces pale
As one who powders
Her nose to cover over
A soft spray of stray freckles.

No erotic fling
Among the gold grasses can
Swing such a moody
One completely from sadness
Clinging like a woolen cloak.

Yet depression is
Overcome by true love’s birth,
If one can find it
Rare as it is in days like
These we are now living in.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, July 22, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0279

DSC_0281

DSC_0311

I am grateful:

1.   I woke up early this morning.
2.   I was able to talk to one of my new friends on the phone.
3.   My cousin, Steve, survived his heart attack and is now recovering.
4.   Hope has been my loyal companion for almost six years.
5.   I had the opportunity to talk to my daughter-in-law, Laura.

I hope your Sunday has been wonderful. Please take a little time to do something creative if you have not already done so today. You are so gifted, so talented, you should share your imagination with the world.

If you need a prompt, write about a special friend, family member, or pet who has meant a great deal in your life. If you use the prompt please leave a link to your work in the comments on this blog, so that others can read your creation.

I hope you have enjoyed your visit here. If there is any advice or comment you want to share, please leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

Always,
Jo Ann

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sorrygnat on July 22, 2012 - 9:03 pm

    nice post

  2. #3 by markwindham on July 23, 2012 - 9:30 am

    this is good Jo Ann, especially like the 1st stanza (and the Pup photo of course)

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 24, 2012 - 6:19 pm

      Mark, thank you so much. I am glad you liked it. Hope is a poser. Please come back again.

  3. #5 by brenda w on July 23, 2012 - 10:17 am

    Your positive voice is calming. I enjoy your journal all the way down to the comments, and the pup of course. LoL

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 24, 2012 - 6:22 pm

      Thank you Brenda. I am glad it was calming. Hope is a good photo subject almost always. She poses.

      Thank you for visiting my blog and please come back.

  4. #7 by Veronica Roth on July 23, 2012 - 12:18 pm

    That’s so touching Jo Ann. I love your interpretation of the Sunday Whirl. Just wonderful. And that cute face; I can’t tell which is more lovely, Hope or those flowers. My old British cat Theo is to me what Hope is to you. Each time I have to go back to Canada I silently pray that he’ll still be here when I come back. Today I was cuddling him and playing with him on the lawn. I’m trying to give him all the love I can while I’m here.

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 24, 2012 - 6:27 pm

      Thanks Veronica… I was not sure the poem was any good at all. In fact, I often wonder if this project is worth continuing. Hope will probably be with me for several more years, but I try to remember how precious each day is… I think I was thinking of Mom being 82, and the tragedy in Aurora too. Sometimes we need a reminder to live fully in our present moments. I am glad you have some special time with Theo.

      Thank you for reading and so kindly commenting.

  5. #9 by Walt Wojtanik on July 23, 2012 - 9:59 pm

    Love the balance between your words painting this picture, and your pictures worth a thousand words (or three thousand is my math skills haven’t failed me!) Good work, Jo Ann.

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 24, 2012 - 6:29 pm

      Thanks Walt… If my words painted a picture I have done well. The photographs are a kind of bonus, they require a bit less effort.

      I hope you will visit again. Thank you for reading.

  6. #11 by Misky on July 24, 2012 - 3:36 am

    Who can resist that little darling puppy? The poem is special, too — nice flow and swing about it.

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 24, 2012 - 6:32 pm

      Thank you Misky. Hope is irresistible. I am glad you like the poem. I was not sure it worked. Sometimes I have grave doubts about what I write.

      Thank you for visiting my blog and please come again.

  7. #13 by purplepeninportland on July 24, 2012 - 10:51 pm

    Beautiful poem and pictures.

Leave a Reply

