365 Creativity Project-Day 203

Journal entry:

Journal 7-30-20120001

I visited Trifecta for inspiration to create a poem today. It was a bit a challenge, but you should see if a visit to that site would help you make something.

Abnormality

I am not strictly
Normal, as in a standard
Interpretation
Of the word, but it is fine
To deviate a little.

Normal is easy,
Being unique is really
A bit challenging,
It takes special skill to stand
Out beyond the usual.

You want a normal,
Look for another person,
Because I do not
Belong to the class, I am
One who lives outside the norm.

Normal is a game
I rarely have any wish
To join in or play,
I am happy with myself
Doing everything my way.

Insanity does
Not conform to the normal,
But are we not all
Just a little bit crazy
In our own particulars?

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Monday, July 30, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0305

DSC_0307

I am grateful:

1.   I lay back down this morning and took a nap.
2.   I have completed reading more than half the Bible aloud to my Mom this year.
3.   I am enjoying reading Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness.
4.   Our ballots were already mailed for the election tomorrow.
5.   Mom and I enjoyed the supper I cooked this evening.

This Monday has been a quiet day for me. I hope your day has been good. Now you should take a little time to do something creative. Every day is an opportunity for you to exercise your talents. Do not waste your chance.

If you need a prompt, write about the beauty that surrounds you in the world at all times. No matter where you may be or what you are doing there is undoubtedly some beauty. If you use this prompt, please leave a link to your work in the comments.

I thank you for visiting my blog. Your comments would be much appreciated.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by startingthedialogue on July 30, 2012 - 8:08 pm

    I really liked your poem today. Wouldn’t the world be a boring place if we were all “normal?’ I love the diversity (and sometimes even the insanity) of the differences in us all.
    Thanks for some great ideas!
    Laura

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 31, 2012 - 7:34 pm

      Thank you Laura. I am glad you enjoyed the poem. I am so glad we are not all alike. The differences make life exciting.

  2. #3 by Ruby Manchanda on July 30, 2012 - 11:47 pm

    A lovely poem. You covered great many things in this post.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on July 31, 2012 - 7:32 pm

      Thank you… I am glad you liked the poem and enjoyed the post.

      Please come and visit again.

  3. #5 by Annabelle on August 1, 2012 - 1:10 pm

    Normal is certainly overrated! Although I suspect achieving normal might actually be a lot of work…

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on August 1, 2012 - 10:26 pm

      Thank you Annabelle. I do not think I have ever qualified as normal, though I do some pretty normal things in my abnormal life. Being normal may indeed be a lot of work… I would not know.

  4. #7 by Trifecta (@trifectawriting) on August 1, 2012 - 11:14 pm

    I think normal is actually kind of out of the ordinary because, as you said, we’e all a little crazy. Thanks for linking up with us again. Don’t forget to come back Friday for the new challenge.

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on August 3, 2012 - 9:08 pm

      Thank you for visiting my blog and thank you so much for the challenges. This one was hard for me because you defined normal as a noun instead of an adjective, but I guess I did it okay.

Leave a Reply

